Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Commonmark migration
Source Link

I am home brewing for the first time ever. I had the following queries pls. Hope someone will answer:

  1. I mixed 200 grams of white sugar, 100 grams of ginger, 2 complete lemons, mint leaves and 1 teaspoon baker’s yeast in 1.5 liters of water. I had boiled the mixture (except for the yeast – which I added later). The brew is bubbling aggressively. Since this is the first time I am brewing, I did not go for a hydrometer. Can anyone tell me how long will it take to complete fermentation? And how will I come to know of it – any tell-tale symbols that the brewing process is over?

  2. After I started the brew, someone told me that the flavors are to be added during secondary fermentation (after racking). Is it true? Will I not get the gingerly, minty flavors from the brew?

  3. I am using a 2 liter Pepsi bottle as a brewing vessel (with an airlock on the top). Is it OK to use a plastic bottle for brewing? I took this bottle as it is used to store and transport consumable drinks and can withstand pressure. I am asking this question as everyone on YouTube seems to be using glass vessels.

  4. Is there any way to find out if any unwanted liquids have brewed up in the final beer/wine? (Like vinegar and other alcohols). How do I know that the brew is safe to drink?

    I look forward to answers of my queries. Any pointers / tips will be thankfully acknowledged.

I look forward to answers of my queries. Any pointers / tips will be thankfully acknowledged.

Thanks and Regards,

Arvind Gupta

I am home brewing for the first time ever. I had the following queries pls. Hope someone will answer:

  1. I mixed 200 grams of white sugar, 100 grams of ginger, 2 complete lemons, mint leaves and 1 teaspoon baker’s yeast in 1.5 liters of water. I had boiled the mixture (except for the yeast – which I added later). The brew is bubbling aggressively. Since this is the first time I am brewing, I did not go for a hydrometer. Can anyone tell me how long will it take to complete fermentation? And how will I come to know of it – any tell-tale symbols that the brewing process is over?

  2. After I started the brew, someone told me that the flavors are to be added during secondary fermentation (after racking). Is it true? Will I not get the gingerly, minty flavors from the brew?

  3. I am using a 2 liter Pepsi bottle as a brewing vessel (with an airlock on the top). Is it OK to use a plastic bottle for brewing? I took this bottle as it is used to store and transport consumable drinks and can withstand pressure. I am asking this question as everyone on YouTube seems to be using glass vessels.

  4. Is there any way to find out if any unwanted liquids have brewed up in the final beer/wine? (Like vinegar and other alcohols). How do I know that the brew is safe to drink?

I look forward to answers of my queries. Any pointers / tips will be thankfully acknowledged.

Thanks and Regards,

Arvind Gupta

I am home brewing for the first time ever. I had the following queries pls. Hope someone will answer:

  1. I mixed 200 grams of white sugar, 100 grams of ginger, 2 complete lemons, mint leaves and 1 teaspoon baker’s yeast in 1.5 liters of water. I had boiled the mixture (except for the yeast – which I added later). The brew is bubbling aggressively. Since this is the first time I am brewing, I did not go for a hydrometer. Can anyone tell me how long will it take to complete fermentation? And how will I come to know of it – any tell-tale symbols that the brewing process is over?

  2. After I started the brew, someone told me that the flavors are to be added during secondary fermentation (after racking). Is it true? Will I not get the gingerly, minty flavors from the brew?

  3. I am using a 2 liter Pepsi bottle as a brewing vessel (with an airlock on the top). Is it OK to use a plastic bottle for brewing? I took this bottle as it is used to store and transport consumable drinks and can withstand pressure. I am asking this question as everyone on YouTube seems to be using glass vessels.

  4. Is there any way to find out if any unwanted liquids have brewed up in the final beer/wine? (Like vinegar and other alcohols). How do I know that the brew is safe to drink?

    I look forward to answers of my queries. Any pointers / tips will be thankfully acknowledged.

Thanks and Regards,

Arvind Gupta

Bumped by Community user
edited tags
Link
dmtaylor
  • 3.4k
  • 1
  • 8
  • 21
Source Link

Home brewing for the first time ever

I am home brewing for the first time ever. I had the following queries pls. Hope someone will answer:

  1. I mixed 200 grams of white sugar, 100 grams of ginger, 2 complete lemons, mint leaves and 1 teaspoon baker’s yeast in 1.5 liters of water. I had boiled the mixture (except for the yeast – which I added later). The brew is bubbling aggressively. Since this is the first time I am brewing, I did not go for a hydrometer. Can anyone tell me how long will it take to complete fermentation? And how will I come to know of it – any tell-tale symbols that the brewing process is over?

  2. After I started the brew, someone told me that the flavors are to be added during secondary fermentation (after racking). Is it true? Will I not get the gingerly, minty flavors from the brew?

  3. I am using a 2 liter Pepsi bottle as a brewing vessel (with an airlock on the top). Is it OK to use a plastic bottle for brewing? I took this bottle as it is used to store and transport consumable drinks and can withstand pressure. I am asking this question as everyone on YouTube seems to be using glass vessels.

  4. Is there any way to find out if any unwanted liquids have brewed up in the final beer/wine? (Like vinegar and other alcohols). How do I know that the brew is safe to drink?

I look forward to answers of my queries. Any pointers / tips will be thankfully acknowledged.

Thanks and Regards,

Arvind Gupta