Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
added 95 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Hubert Schölnast
  • 123.8k
  • 18
  • 214
  • 405

I used a translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two umum in the dependent clause. I understand um__zuum__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional umum? i.e.

um (1)1 mich um (2)2 sie zum kümmern

English original:

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her.

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her.translators output:

Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.um mich um sie zu kümmern.

I used translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two um in the dependent clause. I understand um__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional um i.e.

um (1) mich um (2) sie

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her.

Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.

I used a translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two um in the dependent clause. I understand um__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional um? i.e.

um1 mich um2 sie zum kümmern

English original:

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her.

The translators output:

Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.

formatting improved
Source Link
guidot
  • 29k
  • 2
  • 36
  • 85

I used translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two um in the dependent clause. I understand um__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional um i.e. um mich um sie

um (1) mich um (2) sie

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her. Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.

Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.

I used translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two um in the dependent clause. I understand um__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional um i.e. um mich um sie

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her. Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.

I used translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two um in the dependent clause. I understand um__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional um i.e.

um (1) mich um (2) sie

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her.

Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.

Source Link

Why two um in this sentence

I used translator to translate this sentence but I am confused on why we have two um in the dependent clause. I understand um__zu is acting as a conjunction but why additional um i.e. um mich um sie

The doctor has recommended her bed rest and I have to stay with her to take care of her. Der Arzt hat ihr Bettruhe empfohlen und ich muss bei ihr bleiben, um mich um sie zu kümmern.