Skip to main content
added 156 characters in body
Source Link

Edit: thanks to the comments/answers, I understand now that my initial question is wrong. There is one nominative and one accusative in this question.

Today I wanted to transform the affirmative sentence

Das Licht stört Sie

in a question. But then I could not really choose between:

Stört das Licht Sie?

and

Stört Sie das Licht?

The first one seems to follow the logical German rules (Verb, Subject, Object). But the second one sounds more correct although it breaks the rules I know of how Germans ask questions. The first one sounds really weird to me.

Which one is correct?

Today I wanted to transform the affirmative sentence

Das Licht stört Sie

in a question. But then I could not really choose between:

Stört das Licht Sie?

and

Stört Sie das Licht?

The first one seems to follow the logical German rules (Verb, Subject, Object). But the second one sounds more correct although it breaks the rules I know of how Germans ask questions. The first one sounds really weird to me.

Which one is correct?

Edit: thanks to the comments/answers, I understand now that my initial question is wrong. There is one nominative and one accusative in this question.

Today I wanted to transform the affirmative sentence

Das Licht stört Sie

in a question. But then I could not really choose between:

Stört das Licht Sie?

and

Stört Sie das Licht?

The first one seems to follow the logical German rules (Verb, Subject, Object). But the second one sounds more correct although it breaks the rules I know of how Germans ask questions. The first one sounds really weird to me.

Which one is correct?

tag word-order
Link
Volker Landgraf
  • 7.3k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 38
added 10 characters in body
Source Link

Today I wanted to transform the affirmative sentence "Das Licht stört Sie"

Das Licht stört Sie

in a question. But then I could not really choose between: "Stört das Licht Sie?" and "Stört Sie das Licht?"

Stört das Licht Sie?

and

Stört Sie das Licht?

The first one seems to follow the logical German rules (Verb, Subject, Object). But the second one sounds more correct although it breaks the rules I know of how Germans ask questions. The first one sounds really weird to me.

Which one is correct?

Today I wanted to transform the affirmative sentence "Das Licht stört Sie" in a question. But then I could not really choose between: "Stört das Licht Sie?" and "Stört Sie das Licht?"

The first one seems to follow the logical German rules (Verb, Subject, Object). But the second one sounds more correct although it breaks the rules I know of how Germans ask questions. The first one sounds really weird to me.

Which one is correct?

Today I wanted to transform the affirmative sentence

Das Licht stört Sie

in a question. But then I could not really choose between:

Stört das Licht Sie?

and

Stört Sie das Licht?

The first one seems to follow the logical German rules (Verb, Subject, Object). But the second one sounds more correct although it breaks the rules I know of how Germans ask questions. The first one sounds really weird to me.

Which one is correct?

Source Link
Loading