Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackGerman/status/486745516630605824
added 35 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Em1
  • 38.7k
  • 7
  • 91
  • 208

How do you ask for the meaning of a word in germanGerman?

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in germanGerman. I'm a bit surprised that a googleGoogle search for "ask for word meaning in german"German" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "mean""to mean" in a http://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=endictionary I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as

wasWas bedeutet das?

so I wonder if

wasWas bedeutet [Wort]?

is a correct way to ask what a word means in germanGerman.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

How do you ask for the meaning of a word in german?

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. I'm a bit surprised that a google search for "ask for word meaning in german" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "mean" in http://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=en I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as

was bedeutet das?

so I wonder if

was bedeutet [Wort]?

is a correct way to ask what a word means in german.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

How do you ask for the meaning of a word in German?

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in German. I'm a bit surprised that a Google search for "ask for word meaning in German" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "to mean" in a dictionary I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as

Was bedeutet das?

so I wonder if

Was bedeutet [Wort]?

is a correct way to ask what a word means in German.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

Post Reopened by Takkat
Post Closed as "Needs details or clarity" by Vogel612, Em1, Ingmar, Takkat
improved formatting
Source Link

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. I'm a bit surprised that a google search for "ask for word meaning in german" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "mean" in http://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=en I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as "was bedeutet das?",

was bedeutet das?

so I wonder if "was bedeutet [Wort]?"

was bedeutet [Wort]?

is a correct way to ask what a word means in german.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. I'm a bit surprised that a google search for "ask for word meaning in german" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "mean" in http://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=en I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as "was bedeutet das?", so I wonder if "was bedeutet [Wort]?" is a correct way to ask what a word means in german.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. I'm a bit surprised that a google search for "ask for word meaning in german" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "mean" in http://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=en I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as

was bedeutet das?

so I wonder if

was bedeutet [Wort]?

is a correct way to ask what a word means in german.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

deleted 661 characters in body
Source Link

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. Like when you ask "What does (some word) mean?". AsI'm a beginner to german, I think it'sbit surprised that a very useful thing to know how to askgoogle search for "ask for word meaning in german" didn't provide any direct useful link.

UPDATE:

As Vogel612 noticed my question doesn't show any research effort, so let me put some context. I tried some searchesAfter searching for "mean" in google first, but allhttp://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=en I got were online dictionaries, but nothingfound that gave me an idiomatic way to ask"what does that questionmean?" is translated as "was bedeutet das?", so I asked here.

I'm aware thiswonder if "was bedeutet [Wort]?" is not a translation service, but the Help Center states that

Translation requests to German should always be of general interest and should provide sufficient context. Please understand that we can not be an individual translation service.

I think a correct way to ask for the meaning ofwhat a word is of general interest enough, at least, as I beginner I find it a very useful knowledge and actually I was quite surprised to not found anythingmeans in googlegerman.

Maybe I didn't search hard enough,Also I'm interested in that case, I will be very thankful to anyone that can provide a google query proving I didn't search hard enough.

On theknowing if there are other hand, perhaps I failed at providing contextor better ways to ask for the question or is not as general interest as I thinkmeaning of a word.

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. Like when you ask "What does (some word) mean?". As a beginner to german, I think it's a very useful thing to know how to ask for.

UPDATE:

As Vogel612 noticed my question doesn't show any research effort, so let me put some context. I tried some searches in google first, but all I got were online dictionaries, but nothing that gave me an idiomatic way to ask that question, so I asked here.

I'm aware this is not a translation service, but the Help Center states that

Translation requests to German should always be of general interest and should provide sufficient context. Please understand that we can not be an individual translation service.

I think a way to ask for the meaning of a word is of general interest enough, at least, as I beginner I find it a very useful knowledge and actually I was quite surprised to not found anything in google.

Maybe I didn't search hard enough, in that case, I will be very thankful to anyone that can provide a google query proving I didn't search hard enough.

On the other hand, perhaps I failed at providing context for the question or is not as general interest as I think.

I was wondering how could you ask for the meaning of a word in german. I'm a bit surprised that a google search for "ask for word meaning in german" didn't provide any direct useful link.

After searching for "mean" in http://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung?q=mean&l=deen&in=ac_en&lf=en I found that "what does that mean?" is translated as "was bedeutet das?", so I wonder if "was bedeutet [Wort]?" is a correct way to ask what a word means in german.

Also I'm interested in knowing if there are other or better ways to ask for the meaning of a word.

added 1095 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading