Skip to main content
formatting tweaks; converted non–SE Imgur image to ≤ 2 MiB to be compatible with SE Imgur, context: https://meta.stackexchange.com/questions/388556/imgur-tos-change-could-cause-the-loss-of-thousands-of-se-images (resized width to 650px and reduced colors to 128)
Source Link
galacticninja
  • 46.7k
  • 99
  • 307
  • 566

I was messing around with some of the "Challenge" missions and discovered a Protoss a mechanic that I don't quite understand (Protoss is my least played race by far, so sorry if this is a basic question).

When I attempt to blink stalkers using the shift-queuing method, I usually end up leaving some stalkers behind. It's odd that sometimes all stalkers will properly blink but sometimes I'll end up leaving somewhere between 1-3 stalkers behind. The unpredictability is unsettling...

Mechanically, I'm going through the following 3 steps, which I believe are the correct ones:

  • First, I select the stalkers, right click-click on the location from which I want to initiate the blink
  • Then I press ShiftShift + R R (RR is my blink hotkey) and left-click on the intended destination of the blink
  • Lastly, I release shiftShift, then press ShiftShift + right-click on a location to which newly blinked stalkers can go (so as to make room for the stalkers which haven't yet blinked).

Note: this is the same series of steps as outlined in this other postother post.: How can I queue up stalker blink?

Here's a gifa GIF showing the result (for some reason, it's giving me an error when I try to upload an image directly to my post).:

animated GIF described above

What am I doing wrong?

Alternatively, if I'm following the right steps, what is causing the unpredictability? I have never seen an instance of a unit simply "skipping" one of the commands in its command-queue and attempting to execute the next one...

I was messing around with some of the "Challenge" missions and discovered a Protoss a mechanic that I don't quite understand (Protoss is my least played race by far, so sorry if this is a basic question).

When I attempt to blink stalkers using the shift-queuing method, I usually end up leaving some stalkers behind. It's odd that sometimes all stalkers will properly blink but sometimes I'll end up leaving somewhere between 1-3 stalkers behind. The unpredictability is unsettling...

Mechanically, I'm going through the following 3 steps, which I believe are the correct ones:

  • First, I select the stalkers, right click on the location from which I want to initiate the blink
  • Then I press Shift + R (R is my blink hotkey) and left-click on the intended destination of the blink
  • Lastly, I release shift, then press Shift + right-click on a location to which newly blinked stalkers can go (so as to make room for the stalkers which haven't yet blinked).

Note: this is the same series of steps as outlined in this other post.

Here's a gif showing the result (for some reason, it's giving me an error when I try to upload an image directly to my post).

What am I doing wrong?

Alternatively, if I'm following the right steps, what is causing the unpredictability? I have never seen an instance of a unit simply "skipping" one of the commands in its command-queue and attempting to execute the next one...

I was messing around with some of the "Challenge" missions and discovered a Protoss a mechanic that I don't quite understand (Protoss is my least played race by far, so sorry if this is a basic question).

When I attempt to blink stalkers using the shift-queuing method, I usually end up leaving some stalkers behind. It's odd that sometimes all stalkers will properly blink but sometimes I'll end up leaving somewhere between 1-3 stalkers behind. The unpredictability is unsettling...

Mechanically, I'm going through the following 3 steps, which I believe are the correct ones:

  • First, I select the stalkers, right-click on the location from which I want to initiate the blink
  • Then I press Shift + R (R is my blink hotkey) and left-click on the intended destination of the blink
  • Lastly, I release Shift, then press Shift + right-click on a location to which newly blinked stalkers can go (so as to make room for the stalkers which haven't yet blinked).

Note: this is the same series of steps as outlined in this other post: How can I queue up stalker blink?

Here's a GIF showing the result:

animated GIF described above

What am I doing wrong?

Alternatively, if I'm following the right steps, what is causing the unpredictability? I have never seen an instance of a unit simply "skipping" one of the commands in its command-queue and attempting to execute the next one...

replaced http://gaming.stackexchange.com/ with https://gaming.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I was messing around with some of the "Challenge" missions and discovered a Protoss a mechanic that I don't quite understand (Protoss is my least played race by far, so sorry if this is a basic question).

When I attempt to blink stalkers using the shift-queuing method, I usually end up leaving some stalkers behind. It's odd that sometimes all stalkers will properly blink but sometimes I'll end up leaving somewhere between 1-3 stalkers behind. The unpredictability is unsettling...

Mechanically, I'm going through the following 3 steps, which I believe are the correct ones:

  • First, I select the stalkers, right click on the location from which I want to initiate the blink
  • Then I press Shift + R (R is my blink hotkey) and left-click on the intended destination of the blink
  • Lastly, I release shift, then press Shift + right-click on a location to which newly blinked stalkers can go (so as to make room for the stalkers which haven't yet blinked).

Note: this is the same series of steps as outlined in this other postother post.

Here's a gif showing the result (for some reason, it's giving me an error when I try to upload an image directly to my post).

What am I doing wrong?

Alternatively, if I'm following the right steps, what is causing the unpredictability? I have never seen an instance of a unit simply "skipping" one of the commands in its command-queue and attempting to execute the next one...

I was messing around with some of the "Challenge" missions and discovered a Protoss a mechanic that I don't quite understand (Protoss is my least played race by far, so sorry if this is a basic question).

When I attempt to blink stalkers using the shift-queuing method, I usually end up leaving some stalkers behind. It's odd that sometimes all stalkers will properly blink but sometimes I'll end up leaving somewhere between 1-3 stalkers behind. The unpredictability is unsettling...

Mechanically, I'm going through the following 3 steps, which I believe are the correct ones:

  • First, I select the stalkers, right click on the location from which I want to initiate the blink
  • Then I press Shift + R (R is my blink hotkey) and left-click on the intended destination of the blink
  • Lastly, I release shift, then press Shift + right-click on a location to which newly blinked stalkers can go (so as to make room for the stalkers which haven't yet blinked).

Note: this is the same series of steps as outlined in this other post.

Here's a gif showing the result (for some reason, it's giving me an error when I try to upload an image directly to my post).

What am I doing wrong?

Alternatively, if I'm following the right steps, what is causing the unpredictability? I have never seen an instance of a unit simply "skipping" one of the commands in its command-queue and attempting to execute the next one...

I was messing around with some of the "Challenge" missions and discovered a Protoss a mechanic that I don't quite understand (Protoss is my least played race by far, so sorry if this is a basic question).

When I attempt to blink stalkers using the shift-queuing method, I usually end up leaving some stalkers behind. It's odd that sometimes all stalkers will properly blink but sometimes I'll end up leaving somewhere between 1-3 stalkers behind. The unpredictability is unsettling...

Mechanically, I'm going through the following 3 steps, which I believe are the correct ones:

  • First, I select the stalkers, right click on the location from which I want to initiate the blink
  • Then I press Shift + R (R is my blink hotkey) and left-click on the intended destination of the blink
  • Lastly, I release shift, then press Shift + right-click on a location to which newly blinked stalkers can go (so as to make room for the stalkers which haven't yet blinked).

Note: this is the same series of steps as outlined in this other post.

Here's a gif showing the result (for some reason, it's giving me an error when I try to upload an image directly to my post).

What am I doing wrong?

Alternatively, if I'm following the right steps, what is causing the unpredictability? I have never seen an instance of a unit simply "skipping" one of the commands in its command-queue and attempting to execute the next one...

that's what the tag is for
Link
deutschZuid
  • 8.6k
  • 19
  • 79
  • 116

Starcraft 2: Why does shift-queuing blink have unpredictable results?

Source Link
iceman
  • 706
  • 1
  • 8
  • 18
Loading