Skip to main content
deleted 23 characters in body
Source Link
JRE
  • 72.5k
  • 10
  • 110
  • 193

I am a manufacturing engineer for a company that just inherited a large electrical build. I am struggling to find ESD information for multiple workbenches. This is my last resort so I am hoping you can help!.

Currently we have the ESD workbenches daisy chained and grounded to the ceiling or metal structural beam on the manufacturing floor at 1 point. I have read they should not be daisy chained?. We have about 10 workbenches next to each other so how. How would I ground them all without them being connected withoutwith a ton of wires?

We have ESD mats sitting on top of the workbenches. The manufacturer says the mat should be grounded just from being on top of a grounded workbench. Is this accurate? If not, I do not have a standard outlet with center screw that I could use as ground. Each bench has essentially a powerstrip built in. Can I use that to ground the mat if the bench is grounded? Also, We use ESD wrist bands that are snapped onto the worksurface mats.

Under the benches we have ESD floor that is puzzle piece tile style. I believe this is connected to 1 work bench at 1 point with a grounding cord. Is that enough for all 10 benches?

Finally, how can I verify the entire system is properly grounded? I have seen multimeters, which we have, but then I read that does not work. I have seen 5 lb probes with resistance meters.., I have seen ohm meters.. Please help! All of the info and videos I watch they attach it directly to the outlet but that isntisn't possible for this situation since we arentaren't grounded to an outlet.

I am a manufacturing engineer for a company that just inherited a large electrical build. I am struggling to find ESD information for multiple workbenches. This is my last resort so I am hoping you can help!

Currently we have the ESD workbenches daisy chained and grounded to the ceiling or metal structural beam on the manufacturing floor at 1 point. I have read they should not be daisy chained? We have about 10 workbenches next to each other so how would I ground them all without them being connected without a ton of wires?

We have ESD mats sitting on top of the workbenches. The manufacturer says the mat should be grounded just from being on top of a grounded workbench. Is this accurate? If not, I do not have a standard outlet with center screw that I could use as ground. Each bench has essentially a powerstrip built in. Can I use that to ground the mat if the bench is grounded? Also, We use ESD wrist bands that are snapped onto the worksurface mats.

Under the benches we have ESD floor that is puzzle piece tile style. I believe this is connected to 1 work bench at 1 point with a grounding cord. Is that enough for all 10 benches?

Finally, how can I verify the entire system is properly grounded? I have seen multimeters, which we have, but then I read that does not work. I have seen 5 lb probes with resistance meters.. I have seen ohm meters.. Please help! All of the info and videos I watch they attach it directly to the outlet but that isnt possible for this situation since we arent grounded to an outlet.

I am a manufacturing engineer for a company that just inherited a large electrical build. I am struggling to find ESD information for multiple workbenches. This is my last resort so I am hoping you can help.

Currently we have the ESD workbenches daisy chained and grounded to the ceiling or metal structural beam on the manufacturing floor at 1 point. I have read they should not be daisy chained. We have about 10 workbenches next to each other. How would I ground them all without them being connected with a ton of wires?

We have ESD mats sitting on top of the workbenches. The manufacturer says the mat should be grounded just from being on top of a grounded workbench. Is this accurate? If not, I do not have a standard outlet with center screw that I could use as ground. Each bench has essentially a powerstrip built in. Can I use that to ground the mat if the bench is grounded? We use ESD wrist bands that are snapped onto the worksurface mats.

Under the benches we have ESD floor that is puzzle piece tile style. I believe this is connected to 1 work bench at 1 point with a grounding cord. Is that enough for all 10 benches?

Finally, how can I verify the entire system is properly grounded? I have seen multimeters, which we have, but then I read that does not work. I have seen 5 lb probes with resistance meters, I have seen ohm meters. All of the info and videos I watch they attach it directly to the outlet but that isn't possible for this situation since we aren't grounded to an outlet.

Source Link
MDD
  • 61
  • 1

ESD Workstations in Manufacturing Facility

I am a manufacturing engineer for a company that just inherited a large electrical build. I am struggling to find ESD information for multiple workbenches. This is my last resort so I am hoping you can help!

Currently we have the ESD workbenches daisy chained and grounded to the ceiling or metal structural beam on the manufacturing floor at 1 point. I have read they should not be daisy chained? We have about 10 workbenches next to each other so how would I ground them all without them being connected without a ton of wires?

We have ESD mats sitting on top of the workbenches. The manufacturer says the mat should be grounded just from being on top of a grounded workbench. Is this accurate? If not, I do not have a standard outlet with center screw that I could use as ground. Each bench has essentially a powerstrip built in. Can I use that to ground the mat if the bench is grounded? Also, We use ESD wrist bands that are snapped onto the worksurface mats.

Under the benches we have ESD floor that is puzzle piece tile style. I believe this is connected to 1 work bench at 1 point with a grounding cord. Is that enough for all 10 benches?

Finally, how can I verify the entire system is properly grounded? I have seen multimeters, which we have, but then I read that does not work. I have seen 5 lb probes with resistance meters.. I have seen ohm meters.. Please help! All of the info and videos I watch they attach it directly to the outlet but that isnt possible for this situation since we arent grounded to an outlet.