Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackBlender/status/442068689102589953
Since the OP mentioned his will to collect code-level solution, so scripting tag should better be added.
Link
Leon Cheung
  • 27.9k
  • 11
  • 91
  • 161
added 137 characters in body
Source Link
P i
  • 4k
  • 10
  • 34
  • 53

Is it possible to create a custom nonlinear distortion lens in Blender?

I'm assuming that Blender superimposes a rectangular grid in front of the eye, and fires out a ray through the center of each cell on the grid, returning the colour for that pixel.

enter image description here

So my question reduces to: is it possible to replace this grid with my own warped grid?

EDIT: I'm most interested in a code-level solution -- this is for experimental project and as such I would like fine-grained control.

PS I can't find any tags, such as ray-tracing, eye-ray, lens, distortion

Is it possible to create a custom nonlinear distortion lens in Blender?

I'm assuming that Blender superimposes a rectangular grid in front of the eye, and fires out a ray through the center of each cell on the grid, returning the colour for that pixel.

enter image description here

So my question reduces to: is it possible to replace this grid with my own warped grid?

PS I can't find any tags, such as ray-tracing, eye-ray, lens, distortion

Is it possible to create a custom nonlinear distortion lens in Blender?

I'm assuming that Blender superimposes a rectangular grid in front of the eye, and fires out a ray through the center of each cell on the grid, returning the colour for that pixel.

enter image description here

So my question reduces to: is it possible to replace this grid with my own warped grid?

EDIT: I'm most interested in a code-level solution -- this is for experimental project and as such I would like fine-grained control.

PS I can't find any tags, such as ray-tracing, eye-ray, lens, distortion

Source Link
P i
  • 4k
  • 10
  • 34
  • 53

Custom nonlinear distortion lens

Is it possible to create a custom nonlinear distortion lens in Blender?

I'm assuming that Blender superimposes a rectangular grid in front of the eye, and fires out a ray through the center of each cell on the grid, returning the colour for that pixel.

enter image description here

So my question reduces to: is it possible to replace this grid with my own warped grid?

PS I can't find any tags, such as ray-tracing, eye-ray, lens, distortion