Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • $\begingroup$ First, why do you want to do that? Second, you could try mixing the inputs instead ie. mix(Principled(a1,a2,...), Principled(b1,b2,...),f) becomes Principled(mix(a1,b1,f),mix(a2,b2,f),...). But I don't think this will give the same output except in very simple cases. $\endgroup$
    – scurest
    Commented May 23 at 22:14
  • $\begingroup$ I'm trying to bake this material, but for some reason some things weren't being baked properly (like the metallic of the bottom principled shader). I saw from another post that it baked properly when there is only one principled shader plugged into the material output, so that's why I was wondering if that was possible with my material. Also, my apologies, but I'm not able to follow exactly what you mean. Is there perhaps an example that you could direct me to? $\endgroup$ Commented May 24 at 1:17
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @user18074777 Basically you can use the image which you are using as mix factor for the Mix Shader node, instead use it before the Principled BSDF to mix all values in which they are varying. Only that instead of a single node for mixing you'll then need more, one for mixing colors, one for mixing roughness values etc. and plug those mix results in the appropriate inputs on the Principled BSDF. $\endgroup$ Commented May 24 at 4:29
  • $\begingroup$ @GordonBrinkmann this makes sense, thank you! I did as you said, and this worked for me. $\endgroup$ Commented May 24 at 20:56