Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Chris
  • 1
  • 6
  • 34
  • 93

How to animate the position of a material from left to rightalong the "mesh line"

Source Link
user123511
  • 1.2k
  • 6
  • 22

How to animate the position of a material from left to right

I want to create the effect of current flowing through cables. I want the current to flow over several curves from the beginning to the end of the cable. I created a material with a mix shader and set the texture coordinates to object so that I can control the current flow with an empty. The problem is that I can't let the current flow from the beginning to the end of the cables, because apparently it's not (only) the location that matters, but the rotation of the Empty. Therefore, several parts of the cables are always illuminated and the flow does not run from the beginning to the end.

Screenshot Energy