Skip to main content
edited title
Link
moonboots
  • 163.1k
  • 8
  • 113
  • 178

How can I make this grunge texture (Old Cymbal)

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
blender breath
  • 3.9k
  • 1
  • 11
  • 43

How can I make this grunge texture

I saw a drum cymbal model on Blenderswap,( https://www.blendswap.com/blend/23008 )and wanted to improve the appearance of the cymbal. I have tried 2 methods, one UV mapping an image of a cymbal texture, and the other method making a circle with ridges (But results to lot of geometry).

My texture of the modelled circle, has a bronze texture using BlenderKit. Is there a way to combine some grunge into the texture to make it appear that the cymbal has aged?

Old Cymbal reference image:

enter image description here

Also the image from Blenderswap, has some sculpting applied to it.

I also tried sculpting making holes, but it was a tedious task, and not all sculpting was correctly in place, and the subdivision I added causes my PC to lag very much.

enter image description here

enter image description here