Skip to main content

Timeline for 3D procedural material workflow

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

17 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 8 at 18:19 vote accept Maroleiro
Dec 8, 2023 at 19:33 answer added Robin Betts timeline score: 1
Dec 7, 2023 at 23:07 history edited Maroleiro CC BY-SA 4.0
added 87 characters in body
Dec 7, 2023 at 23:06 comment added Maroleiro On other 3d softwares I have used (without procedural materials) the mapping information would be linked to the object and not the material. That way I could use a single material for different parts and If I were to make changes to the material It would automatically apply to all the parts without messing the mapping.
Dec 7, 2023 at 23:03 comment added Maroleiro Since I am working on renders of a collection of chairs with different materials and have on the same scene multiple variations of the same chair, with different materials and positions/rotations I am spending way too much time duplicating and mapping the materials.
Dec 7, 2023 at 22:58 comment added Maroleiro Current limitations: 1. I have to create a new material for the orientation of each of the parts in a chair. 2. If I duplicate the chair and move/rotate, the mapping gets messed up so I have to create new materials for each instance of the same chair. 3. If I wanted to have two chairs with slightly different materials I would have to make a copy of the material of each part.
Dec 7, 2023 at 22:54 comment added Maroleiro Thanks @Robin Betts, I currently have a 'texture coordinate' node with the part of the chair I am mapping as the the object and outputting 'object' to the 'vector' input of a 'mapping' node where I rotate the material as needed.
Dec 7, 2023 at 20:19 comment added Robin Betts @Maroleiro What's ytour current workflow? Are parts separate objects? Do you use the Mapping node to position and orient the 3D texture?
Dec 7, 2023 at 17:38 history edited Duarte Farrajota Ramos CC BY-SA 4.0
added 12 characters in body
Dec 7, 2023 at 17:30 comment added Robin Betts I'll make some kind of answer out of that, then
Dec 7, 2023 at 14:07 answer added moonboots timeline score: 2
Dec 7, 2023 at 14:06 comment added Maroleiro Thanks you for your reply @Robin Betts, your solution makes sense to me theoretically but as a beginner I will have to do some more research to put that into practice!
Dec 7, 2023 at 14:05 comment added Maroleiro Thank you very much @moonboots, node group fixed my issue!
Dec 7, 2023 at 10:04 comment added Robin Betts Using vertex colors or Geometry Nodes, you could encode the location and orientation of each part (with respect to the virtual timber) as attributes of its mesh. Those attributes could be passed into your shader, as adjustments of the overall texture coordinate. Does that sound about right? You could randomize the locations ,say, along the log to ensure parts are al cut from different stock, but with a similar character.
Dec 7, 2023 at 7:58 comment added moonboots In the Shader Editor, you can create a node group and use this same node group in each material, any change in this node group will be replicated in each material, I don't know if it could be useful
S Dec 7, 2023 at 1:38 review First questions
Dec 7, 2023 at 17:38
S Dec 7, 2023 at 1:38 history asked Maroleiro CC BY-SA 4.0