Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 11, 2023 at 9:13 comment added shmuel I'll also look at your attempts in your blend file to see if I can extract any ideas from there.
Oct 11, 2023 at 9:12 comment added shmuel @Obfuscate I'm actually looking into that question I saw it a while ago, but in poped back into my mind thanks to this post. I have a couple of ideas/methods, though I haven't implemented any of them so far (haven't started). I'll let you know if I end up trying them and if they work.
Oct 10, 2023 at 22:24 comment added Obfuscate @Markus von Broady I agree mostly with what you're saying. Much of Attempt 1 was completed with Trial and Error. Simply put, the problem with Attempt 1 is that it won't work for every mesh in my opinion. Although, I'm not quite sure what you're suggesting is the main cause for its defectiveness.
Oct 10, 2023 at 22:11 comment added Obfuscate Apologies to all for the lack of detail in Attempt 1. In the Extrusion section, I had to offset my tube (either before or after the Extrusion) because my shrinkwrap did not know which edge to shrinkwrap to (try muting Extrude Mesh -0.1m node and using the move tool on Suzanne). Upon flattening my mesh, faces not visible to camera view were reprojected facing away from the camera view. When extruded, these faces would be extruded into a second tube, moving in the opposite direction. I simply picked one half of the tube with a Separate Geometry Node.
Oct 10, 2023 at 21:44 comment added Obfuscate @shmuel Wow, Backface Culling? That looks like a really old-fashioned method. I do not mean to sound patronizing but, my intention was to make an outline according to this question; How can I create an outline around an object?.
Oct 10, 2023 at 12:47 comment added Markus von Broady I don't follow the extrusion logic in attempt 1, but I think it's wrong. think about a simple case first: orthogonal view, looking from up, you scale everything on $z$ to 0, extrude edges up, raycast on them. obviously you won't get an outline inside "holes" (in a projection), and concavities pose a problem to shrinkwrapping, but your problem doesn't seem to be caused by either.
Oct 10, 2023 at 6:08 comment added shmuel did you try making a Freznel affect as a mask? use a dot product between the the direction to the camara and the normal. and then remove the rest with the raycast (aka backface culling). make sure to do the raycast first, capture it, to the Freznel deletion then do the captured raycast deletion.
Oct 10, 2023 at 5:09 history edited Duarte Farrajota Ramos CC BY-SA 4.0
Remove extraneous text
Oct 10, 2023 at 1:55 history edited Obfuscate CC BY-SA 4.0
added 87 characters in body
Oct 10, 2023 at 1:48 history edited Obfuscate CC BY-SA 4.0
added 2 characters in body
S Oct 10, 2023 at 1:43 review First questions
Oct 10, 2023 at 12:25
S Oct 10, 2023 at 1:43 history asked Obfuscate CC BY-SA 4.0