Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • $\begingroup$ Hi Gordon, I'm not sure this merits an extra post, but if you don't want your bun look as if it's freshly back from the hairdersser: imgur.com/a/yKsnpKC $\endgroup$
    – Robin Betts
    Commented Mar 10, 2023 at 9:43
  • $\begingroup$ ..... your answer fixed, while I was commenting :) $\endgroup$
    – Robin Betts
    Commented Mar 10, 2023 at 9:53
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @RobinBetts I fixed it about half an hour ago, you commented quite slowly ;) Well, at first I thought the question is mostly about how to get the alignment to the face normal with newer GN, then I realized that the randomization cannot be done like in tutorial anymore as well, so I added it. But instead of using the Axis Angle like your setup I prefer the Euler method with random vectors instead of floats, because then I have more control on the individual axes. I also rotate on X and Y because I think each seed being perfectly flush with the surface looks a bit unnatural, too. $\endgroup$ Commented Mar 10, 2023 at 10:01
  • $\begingroup$ There's a huge delay on post updates, for me .. Yes, Poisson Disk and all-flush heads you off in a toon direction :) $\endgroup$
    – Robin Betts
    Commented Mar 10, 2023 at 10:13
  • $\begingroup$ Wow thank you this is a really detailed answer, I'll give it a go now! $\endgroup$
    – finnsquid
    Commented Mar 10, 2023 at 16:18