Skip to main content

Timeline for Snake Defensive Display animation

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 18, 2021 at 11:11 comment added Rumen Belev @vklidu Thanks for the clarification. I will have this in mind when posting questions in the future. I hope that this is one of many solutions. Mine is not perfect. That is why I posted the question here.
Jul 17, 2021 at 22:06 comment added vklidu Great you found solution :) BTW the gifs are done thanks to Jachym, I see ... BSE doesn't accept external links (they are not permanent) and placing reference directly to Q make it more clear a quicker for others to follow without other clicking.
Jul 17, 2021 at 11:48 comment added Rumen Belev @vklidu Hi! I am not sure how these gifs were generated. I only posted links to the video references. It is still a challenge to try and create a longer animation and you will see the issue with this approach. I am preparing an answer on my own, which is not 100% satisfactory to me. But that is what I like when discussing problems with others - a new solutions may arise. And who said that there is only one answer? ;)
Jul 17, 2021 at 11:20 comment added vklidu @RumenBelev -right :) I just mimic the gif you attached, later I saw video with loop cycle, sorry. Anyway I don't think you will run out of control points since they just deform curve left&right, but it has to be animated all since inner curve runs slowly to outer. I will check that later. I have also another concept that I want to proof (tomorrow or Monday). Ad to animated snake - right thanks :) I tried to switch dir, but it didnt changed result for some reason, so I left it and focused on basic movement. If I wouldn't find loop version, I will delete answer to don't waste Jachym's bounty :)
Jul 17, 2021 at 9:19 comment added Chris Wow! Well done!!!
Jul 16, 2021 at 21:43 comment added Rumen Belev Here is the the file with the switched direction and removed Snake object animation. blend-exchange.com/b/Gv2Zz2Jd
Jul 16, 2021 at 21:35 comment added Rumen Belev I like the way it is executed - using Hook Modifiers on the deforming Bezier Curve. However, it is showing only the first phase of the motion. The formed bulge on the right side of the head keeps expanding. If you try to complete a full loop (cycle) of the motion as on the videos you may run out of control points to keep up with the new shape. I would love to see a full cycle using this approach. By the way you don't have to animate the snake body if you switch the Curve direction and invert the snake model - the head will "stick" to the beginning of the curve.
Jul 16, 2021 at 16:08 comment added Robin Betts Just downloaded. The motion is so much simpler than it looks! Well worked out. :)
Jul 16, 2021 at 14:30 history edited vklidu CC BY-SA 4.0
added 85 characters in body
Jul 16, 2021 at 11:23 history edited vklidu CC BY-SA 4.0
edited body
Jul 16, 2021 at 11:13 history answered vklidu CC BY-SA 4.0