Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • $\begingroup$ I think it's the best one can do at this stage. $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 20, 2021 at 7:16
  • $\begingroup$ @MaulikSharma I edited my answer, at the bottom I've got another solution. In the end it's not necessary to have many different materials on one object, you could make a single one of them. $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 20, 2021 at 7:22
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Why didn't I think of that. I have used that approach so many times in my projects🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️ $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 20, 2021 at 7:38
  • $\begingroup$ Thank you for the comment!! Gordon Brinkmann. You gave me many hints. I'll try several ways for assigning. Whether I succeed or not, I'll leave the comment later. I need some time. $\endgroup$
    – Varrick
    Commented Apr 20, 2021 at 8:15
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Of course this would have been the right order - but in your question you said you can't or don't want to duplicate the one can because you put so much effort in the others before. The problem you describe can be easily solved with a mask texture. Make it black where it should be plastic and white where it should be metal. Plug that into the Metallic input of a Principled BSDF. Now you have metal and plastic masked out. If you want different Roughness for plastic and metal, e.g. 0.2 for plastic and 0.4 for metal than map the 0 and 1 to 0.2 and 0.4 with a Color Ramp or Map Range node. $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 20, 2021 at 12:52