Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
added 83 characters in body
Source Link
James
  • 133
  • 2
  • 14

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

Or potentially more simply done with bpy.ops.mesh.region_to_loop()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop properly. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know why my inner loop selection would not be selecting the innermost loop?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select enter image description here

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces an unexpexted result. (or bpy.ops.mesh.loop_to_region() in Python)

Select Inner-Region

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

Or potentially more simply done with bpy.ops.mesh.region_to_loop()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop properly. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know why my inner loop selection would not be selecting the innermost loop?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces an unexpexted result. (or bpy.ops.mesh.loop_to_region() in Python)

Select Inner-Region

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

Or potentially more simply done with bpy.ops.mesh.region_to_loop()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop properly. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know why my inner loop selection would not be selecting the innermost loop?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select enter image description here

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces an unexpexted result. (or bpy.ops.mesh.loop_to_region() in Python)

Select Inner-Region

added 89 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
James
  • 133
  • 2
  • 14

Can I use python Using Python to select both an outer and inner edgeInner loop on a 2din my mesh is producing unexpected results. Any suggestions? Blender 2.8

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

Or potentially more simply done with bpy.ops.mesh.region_to_loop()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop properly. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know if this is possible in with pythonwhy my inner loop selection would not be selecting the innermost loop?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces a strangean unexpexted result. (or bpy.ops.mesh.loop_to_region() in Python)

Select Inner-Region

Can I use python to select both an outer and inner edge loop on a 2d mesh? Blender 2.8

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know if this is possible in with python?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces a strange result.

Select Inner-Region

Using Python to select Inner loop in my mesh is producing unexpected results. Any suggestions? Blender 2.8

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

Or potentially more simply done with bpy.ops.mesh.region_to_loop()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop properly. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know why my inner loop selection would not be selecting the innermost loop?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces an unexpexted result. (or bpy.ops.mesh.loop_to_region() in Python)

Select Inner-Region

added 162 characters in body
Source Link
James
  • 133
  • 2
  • 14

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know if this is possible in with python?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces a strange result.

Select Inner-Region

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know if this is possible in with python?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

I have many 2d meshes that have many edge loops created with the Inset Straight Skeleton Tool and I'm hoping I can clean up some of the unwanted edge loops in an automated way.

So far I've found:

import bpy
import bmesh
context = bpy.context

obj = context.edit_object
me = obj.data
bm = bmesh.from_edit_mesh(me)
bm.select_mode |= {'EDGE'}
for e in bm.edges:
    e.select = e.is_boundary
bm.select_flush_mode()   
me.update()

This will let me select the outer edge loop, but I am struggling to find anything that will let me select the innermost edge loop. If I can select both of these then I can just perform an inverse selection and delete the unwanted edges inbetween them. Does anyone know if this is possible in with python?

Example of outer and inner edge loops I want to auto select

Using Select Loop Inner-Region from the Select menu produces a strange result.

Select Inner-Region

Source Link
James
  • 133
  • 2
  • 14
Loading