Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • $\begingroup$ OK, I get it now. If the volume is curved though, I assume the rays would be curved as well, so wouldnt that give the same result as if the volume was straight? I suppose using bake functionality and refractive objects, it is possible to construct any such camera. You define the form of the 'sensor' plane by reflective geometry and you can use refractive objects to bend light in any kind of way as well this way defining the view volume. It can be any shape I can think of, but it's not a curve, its a 3d volume - that was what confused me. $\endgroup$ Commented Dec 20, 2018 at 21:37
  • $\begingroup$ Since the 'sensor' is a UV mapped 3d object you can even have pieces of the volume in completely different locations and orientations in 3d space. $\endgroup$ Commented Dec 20, 2018 at 21:39
  • $\begingroup$ OK, that's interesting. There is also nothing preventing you from making any lens from any object using refractive shaders. That might be a more elegant solution for an addon. $\endgroup$ Commented Dec 20, 2018 at 22:01
  • $\begingroup$ I wonder whether it's possible to write a volumetric refraction shader in OSL? .. one in which instead of a ray being scattered, absorbed, or returning an emission value at each sampled point in a volume, it was bent by a function of X,Y and Z? The 3-texture which did the bending could be in the camera space.. $\endgroup$
    – Robin Betts
    Commented Dec 20, 2018 at 22:49
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I think this is actually a really good question. I tired to make it a bit clearer and added a few pictures. I hope you don't mind my edit. Please correct it if I changed anything not to your liking. $\endgroup$ Commented Dec 21, 2018 at 15:25