Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • expensive? you can get that cleaner, 16oz, on amazon for $8 amazon.com/Park-Tool-Chainbrite-Cleaner-16-Ounce/dp/B000OZFIKI/… it might just be me, but that seems like a good deal for what it does.
    – fady
    Commented Apr 12, 2012 at 17:08
  • I'll admit that the Amazon deal is quite a bit less than I was paying my FLBS for the Park Tool stuff, but I can also get a Gallon of Citrus degreaser at Lowe's for about $8, hence the question, since if it's 8-10x the price, I want to be sure it's necessary.
    – Dan Catlin
    Commented Apr 14, 2012 at 1:38
  • I’d just like to point out: You don’t really have to degrease a chain regularly. Just rub off the dirt from the outside and oil it, then rub off the excessive oil.
    – Michael
    Commented Mar 19, 2018 at 14:45