Skip to main content
added 198 characters in body
Source Link
uhoh
  • 30.7k
  • 9
  • 91
  • 302

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

Thanks to user uhoh suggestion you can refer to

https://i.sstatic.net/4KFTg.jpg

Per this comment here is a cell phone image with a horizontal FOV of about 60°. However in this pic the moon is not that small. I suspect the brain still enlargeenlarges it as it is down at horizon and trees are close :)

enter image description here

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

Thanks to user uhoh suggestion you can refer to

https://i.sstatic.net/4KFTg.jpg

However in this pic the moon is not that small. I suspect brain still enlarge it as it is down at horizon and trees are close :)

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

Per this comment here is a cell phone image with a horizontal FOV of about 60°. However in this pic the moon is not that small. I suspect the brain still enlarges it as it is down at horizon and trees are close :)

enter image description here

added 216 characters in body
Source Link
Alchimista
  • 903
  • 6
  • 9

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

Thanks to user uhoh suggestion you can refer to

https://i.sstatic.net/4KFTg.jpg

However in this pic the moon is not that small. I suspect brain still enlarge it as it is down at horizon and trees are close :)

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

Thanks to user uhoh suggestion you can refer to

https://i.sstatic.net/4KFTg.jpg

However in this pic the moon is not that small. I suspect brain still enlarge it as it is down at horizon and trees are close :)

added 49 characters in body; edited body
Source Link
Alchimista
  • 903
  • 6
  • 9

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons. Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

I decided to answer because the role of perception is not yet taken into account.

The way we see is not only dictated by the optics of our eyes as cameras. It depends on how the brain elaborate or interprete the signals.

It is well known but still surprising that a finger at arm length can accommodate something like seven to ten moons (if not ten to thirteen, I can't look right now). Still, it quite possible that asking a person (not aware of that) something like "how many moon can you cover with a finger?" we get an answer such as "may be half" or " one? two? Tell me...".

Specifically to Moon:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon_illusion

Photographing the Moon with a smartphone or a point and shoot camera we get things like this picture (3.5 mm, aperture 2.6).

The moon looks much smaller in the photograph than as seen in reality. The result does not look too dissimilar from the pic posted by OP. (Let me add that my photo was cropped a bit, so the native size of the moon is even smaller).

All this is to say that whatever is aimed at giving a feeling of realism should consider perception of reality rather then size of reality.

This is done in Stellarium and many others sky viewing apps where a "realistic" option is used to alter the angular size of the moon paradoxically away from reality. I.e. the moon is arbitrarily scaled up to fit our common perception.

I think this is what the OP is dealing with.

PS I am pretty sure that my pic has been uploaded. For some reason it does not appear to be the case. If necessary let me know. By the way it was a house with sky and a small than commonly perceived Moon ;)

added 88 characters in body
Source Link
Alchimista
  • 903
  • 6
  • 9
Loading
added 691 characters in body; added 120 characters in body; added 38 characters in body
Source Link
Alchimista
  • 903
  • 6
  • 9
Loading
Source Link
Alchimista
  • 903
  • 6
  • 9
Loading