Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Wrzlprmft
  • 62.7k
  • 18
  • 193
  • 299

Is my paper under review (or similar) for too long and if yes, how should I react?

Notice removed Canonical answer required by Wrzlprmft
Bounty Ended with user70612's answer chosen by Wrzlprmft
Notice added Canonical answer required by Wrzlprmft
Bounty Started worth 200 reputation by Wrzlprmft
Post Made Community Wiki by StrongBad
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/855407234947350528
Source Link
Wrzlprmft
  • 62.7k
  • 18
  • 193
  • 299

Is my paper under review for too long and if yes, how should I react?

I submitted a paper to a journal, and I suspect that it is handled too slowly.

  • How can I decide whether my suspicion is correct? What handling times should I expect?

  • Given some expected handling times, when should I act? How much leeway should I give?

  • How should I act? Whom should I contact and what should I (roughly) write?

Note that I am interested on how I should approach this situation in general, and do not seek specific numbers for my specific situation. I am therefore looking for general answers that are independent of such factors as the field or individual journal (but mention them if they are relevant factors).

This is a canonical question on this topic as per this meta post. Due to its nature, it is rather broad and not exemplary for a regular question on this site. Please feel free to improve this question.