Skip to main content
33 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 11, 2020 at 18:11 comment added Bloke Down The Pub What she did is less relevant than what you can prove.
Nov 24, 2018 at 19:36 history protected Alexandros
Apr 18, 2017 at 18:10 answer added ancientcampus timeline score: 0
Apr 17, 2017 at 12:57 comment added adspeed @cybernard I'm not sure she sees/saw anything hostile about her behavior. I did call her out on reprimanding me for not laughing at her jokes (this was second day of my GA position with her and one reason she cited for wanting to remove me from the position). She ignored my reaction and moved from threatening to fire me to threatening to not write me letters of recommendation for doctoral programs, instead. At that point, I was pretty afraid of her. Beyond that, I never confronted her inappropriate behaviors nor asked her why she was hostile to me or to other students.
Apr 17, 2017 at 4:45 answer added Helen timeline score: 3
Apr 16, 2017 at 20:20 comment added cybernard Did you every ask her directly why she was so hostile to you?
Apr 13, 2017 at 19:53 comment added adspeed @Nat -- no worries, completely understand. I'm sorry for the confusion!
Apr 13, 2017 at 14:34 history edited adspeed CC BY-SA 3.0
Added a note clarifying the question in order to discourage off-topic answers/comments.
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:29 vote accept adspeed
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:27 comment added adspeed @Nat I did delete that comment because several people interpreted as 'romantic' even though I made zero mention of sexual advances, etc. in my original question. She repeatedly pressured me to take her classes, make her my thesis chair, become her GA, etc. etc. I never picked up on anything sexual. I hope this clarifies.
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:16 comment added adspeed @JanIvan Hm, she did know, because I told her. I was taking her class at the time. Her response was, Yeah, that sounds hard, but things will get better soon. "Soon" turned out to be three months. I never called her a psychopath. (I don't think lacking empathy needs to be pathologized.) It sounds like you want me to empathize with her, and I certainly did on many occasions. I feel like this is very off-topic from my original question (are these threats actionable).
Apr 13, 2017 at 8:26 answer added Crowley timeline score: 5
Apr 13, 2017 at 7:36 comment added Jan Ivan I still don't believe she is that bad. You also wrote (in comments of some answer): "This was in the midst of the death of my younger sibling, too-- this prof doesn't seem to have an empathetic bone in her body." Well, sorry for that, but no idea how she should know that kind of information. If you trying to make advantage of that - it feels even more wrong… and maybe she has similar reasons for her behavior. Because the way you describe her - she isn't even psychopath, but acting randomly bad. Or maybe she is under pressure, or maybe job burnout.
Apr 13, 2017 at 1:51 history edited aparente001
added tag
Apr 13, 2017 at 1:51 answer added aparente001 timeline score: 6
S Apr 13, 2017 at 1:33 history suggested Nat CC BY-SA 3.0
Inserted definition for "GA", as comments suggested that this isn't a globally recognized acronym.
Apr 13, 2017 at 0:33 review Suggested edits
S Apr 13, 2017 at 1:33
S Apr 12, 2017 at 18:37 history suggested CommunityBot CC BY-SA 3.0
Removed unnecessary a, b, c, d
Apr 12, 2017 at 18:33 review Suggested edits
S Apr 12, 2017 at 18:37
Apr 12, 2017 at 17:49 history tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/852217242423046144
Apr 12, 2017 at 17:14 comment added adspeed @CaptainEmacs This is all really good advice... Thank you for taking the time to respond. It was incredibly hard being under her scope while she was my prof and supervisor. I will do all I can to get off her radar-- thanks!
Apr 12, 2017 at 17:13 comment added adspeed @user2390246 Thank you for your insight-- I have no doubt she has a reputation, based on how I have seen her interact with peers 'on her level,' at conferences and such. I guess I should not be surprised that academics can figure things out for themselves!
Apr 12, 2017 at 17:12 answer added crobar timeline score: 16
Apr 12, 2017 at 16:59 comment added Captain Emacs ...will focus on the next poor victim soon which might take you off her sights. Go off her radar. Do not respond to her emails unless you are formally required, but save them. Or respond with a bland "I will respond as soon as I can." (which is "never").
Apr 12, 2017 at 16:57 comment added Captain Emacs Yes, people like that exist and it is an unpleasant experience to be in their crosshairs. If she is consistently misbehaving, as you seem to suggest, her reputation precedes her. You may have some difficulties, but try not to lay tracks of what you are going to do and where you are going to go next. Try to cultivate other references which you can use. Do not give her material, information, anything you can avoid. She will be insulted about any way you take that is not hers, so there is nothing you can do to avoid her wrath. Be polite, but distance yourself as much as you can and hope she...
Apr 12, 2017 at 16:14 comment added user2390246 It's quite likely that someone with the character that you describe already has quite a reputation within their field themselves (and I don't mean that in a positive way), and therefore if she were to attempt to interfere it might well fall on deaf ears.
Apr 12, 2017 at 15:46 comment added Dave L Renfro "she aggressively pursued a relationship with me" If this can be documented by emails or other reliable evidence, I think you definitely have something actionable to act on. However, the rest of what you write suggests that maybe you meant "relationship" in a more general sense, and not in a romantic sense. (Saying "pursued a relationship with me" usually means romantic, by the way.)
Apr 12, 2017 at 15:36 answer added Jeff timeline score: 84
Apr 12, 2017 at 15:14 comment added adspeed Federico-- Sorry, that would a graduate assistant. @saturnus That is partly my reason for posting this question in the more neutral environment of Academia.Stack. If the consensus is that my fears are mislaid and I'm silly for thinking she can continue to influence my academic life/career, then I will certainly keep all this to myself-- regardless of my personal feelings about her. Beyond going to ombuds last year, I don't know who else might receive my complaint. Also, I don't like stirring the pot. :\
Apr 12, 2017 at 15:08 answer added padawan timeline score: 39
Apr 12, 2017 at 14:55 comment added user70612 Sounds like an official complaint needs to be made against her - that is incredibly aggressive and unprofessional behaviour. As for your current situation, you may need to have a chat with your current supervisors - but, I would wait for some advice of some of the professors who are members here.
Apr 12, 2017 at 14:22 comment added user70612 Wow - it certainly sounds like she has a monumental grudge on you!
Apr 12, 2017 at 14:21 history asked adspeed CC BY-SA 3.0