Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 18, 2017 at 23:06 comment added Nate Eldredge @padawan: I honestly do not know of any law (in my jurisdiction) that would be violated by such actions. It sounds like you do know of some, so could you enlighten us? (In what jurisdiction?)
Apr 13, 2017 at 21:16 comment added padawan @Xantix No, it is "unanimously" which means "without opposition; with the agreement of all people involved."
Apr 13, 2017 at 21:14 comment added Xantix typo: "unanimously" should be "anonymously"
Apr 13, 2017 at 19:45 comment added Doktor J I would suggest speaking with others who were abused by her and working together to file complaints simultaneously. If a record can be established showing that she is routinely abusive like this, action should be taken to remove her from such a position so she will not have the opportunity to abuse more people.
Apr 12, 2017 at 21:54 comment added padawan If neither "threatened to fire me from my GA position with them" "tried to pressure me into promoting her from reader to thesis chair on my thesis committee" is not illegal, set aside making a student very uncomfortable about their future (which is also something you cannot do according to code of ethics), then we're on different pages and there is no point in discussing further.
Apr 12, 2017 at 21:07 comment added Jeff Youre escallating your rhetoric here. Threatening legal action against a professor you didn't get along with, but that you asked to write you a letter of recommendation, for a program you got admitted to, strikes me as basically insane. Not to mention there's nothing the OP said that sounded remotely illegal.
Apr 12, 2017 at 19:43 comment added padawan @adspeed It is a common action in many academic environments to just sweep "such tiny disagreements" under the carpet. But they have to response to legal complaints. So, even though nothing comes up, I would file a legal complaint with all the documented proofs. If a person uses her authorithy to bully students, I feel like I must do this for the future possible victims, if not for myself. Also, for the next time, she will have a track record.
Apr 12, 2017 at 18:49 comment added padawan @Jeff Unfortunately, I believe quite the opposite. This is about priorities of a human being, regardless of the position and title. Personally, I always prefer not to get the position if it depends on me ignoring some offense. This is some serious stuff, and strictest actions should be taken. Or, simply "what should happen to start a case?"
Apr 12, 2017 at 18:26 comment added Jeff The information has already been passed on to the ombudsman, so no one is keeping silent. This is about the priorities of a new PhD student, and the wisdom of escalating a feud with a senior faculty member in a field you hope to someday join.
Apr 12, 2017 at 18:23 comment added padawan @Jeff I think it is a good advice for every single person on the face of the earth. If you keep silent against such a behavior against yourself, then the chances are you will ignore them in the future. If this is not the reason for pressing charges, I don't see what else would be.
Apr 12, 2017 at 18:10 comment added Jeff "start a case on that professor" does not seem like good advice for a newly-admitted PhD student at a different school.
Apr 12, 2017 at 17:15 comment added adspeed "Asking her for a reference letter was a mistake, but it is not un-recoverable." x_x I knew that was a foolish decision.... A couple of my classmates were confused about why I did that, but those who know her confided to me that they would do the same thing. I will tell them, No! Do not! Despite the fact that many of our interactions are either documented or have witnesses, Ombuds told me there is little to be done until she has a longer 'track record' of mistreatment of students. Seems horrible to me. Thank you for your input.
Apr 12, 2017 at 15:08 history answered padawan CC BY-SA 3.0