Skip to main content
edited tags
Source Link
Sursula
  • 21.8k
  • 8
  • 65
  • 128

I and myMy girlfriend and I are applying to the same PhD program and are interested in the same group. The group is quite small and it is likely that we will be working together a lot, I am unsure if mentioning the relationship is the right thing to do.

In my country it is illegal to be discriminated against because of a relationship within the workplace (If one doesn't let it affect the working relationship). The code of conduct of the institution states that they do not discriminate against existing relations, and only that relationships between supervisors and their employees need to be disclosed.

Given the size of the group it feels wrong to me, not to mention the relationship to the potential supervisor. Yet, given that only a few people are admitted I fear that this would minderlessen the chances of both being accepted as it is just more potential for conflict.

I and my girlfriend are applying to the same PhD program and are interested in the same group. The group is quite small and it is likely that we will be working together a lot, I am unsure if mentioning the relationship is the right thing to do.

In my country it is illegal to be discriminated against because of a relationship within the workplace (If one doesn't let it affect the working relationship). The code of conduct of the institution states that they do not discriminate against existing relations, and only that relationships between supervisors and their employees need to be disclosed.

Given the size of the group it feels wrong to me, not to mention the relationship to the potential supervisor. Yet, given that only a few people are admitted I fear that this would minder the chances of both being accepted as it is just more potential for conflict.

My girlfriend and I are applying to the same PhD program and are interested in the same group. The group is quite small and it is likely that we will be working together a lot, I am unsure if mentioning the relationship is the right thing to do.

In my country it is illegal to be discriminated against because of a relationship within the workplace (If one doesn't let it affect the working relationship). The code of conduct of the institution states that they do not discriminate against existing relations, and only that relationships between supervisors and their employees need to be disclosed.

Given the size of the group it feels wrong to me, not to mention the relationship to the potential supervisor. Yet, given that only a few people are admitted I fear that this would lessen the chances of both being accepted as it is just more potential for conflict.

edited tags
Link
Buffy
  • 375.5k
  • 86
  • 993
  • 1.5k
Source Link

Is it unethical to not disclose relationship when applying to same group

I and my girlfriend are applying to the same PhD program and are interested in the same group. The group is quite small and it is likely that we will be working together a lot, I am unsure if mentioning the relationship is the right thing to do.

In my country it is illegal to be discriminated against because of a relationship within the workplace (If one doesn't let it affect the working relationship). The code of conduct of the institution states that they do not discriminate against existing relations, and only that relationships between supervisors and their employees need to be disclosed.

Given the size of the group it feels wrong to me, not to mention the relationship to the potential supervisor. Yet, given that only a few people are admitted I fear that this would minder the chances of both being accepted as it is just more potential for conflict.