Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/1358883339218939904
Became Hot Network Question
edited tags
Link
added 68 characters in body
Source Link
user134938
user134938

I am an undergraduate student pursuing a double major in Computer Science B.S. and Mathematics B.S.

My dream career is to work in quant. finance. However, my school does not have a dedicated department to this field, resulting in lack of dedicated classes and opportunities for it. The page for "Mathematical Finance" is simply a white page with nothing but a list of three faculty members, linking to their page, two of which are Ph.D students.

I have found an associate professor who I believe can help answer a few of my questions and confusion about going down this path, but I have read a little here and generally, emails like this are frowned upon, and the last thing I want is for him to be offended by my request.

However, I don't really know any other professors or faculty members who would be able to give me insight on this.

My email would start off something like this

"I would just like to start off this email by saying please excuse me and forgive any informalities or unprofessionalism. I hope to not offend you with this sudden email from a student you do not know. I have found your email and page from MyCollege's "Mathematical Finance" page: mycollege.com/mathematical-finance"

Then I would say something along the lines of "given your expertise, what courses/concepts are important...what steps should I take now..."

And then finally I'd say something like "I know you are incredibly busy with research, school, among other things, so I hope you do not mind this email."

I will also make sure not to completely bombard him with questions, but ask general, non-pressuring questions.

Is this a bad idea? I am not quite sure where else to get in contact with someone in this field with such close proximity, and aside from LinkedIn with people I will probably never meet, this seems like my best bet.

EDIT: this might be a duplicate of OK to ask a professor at my institution with whom I have no previous relationship some questions relating to hobby-project? but this is about a community college professor who is not doing research, which may be different from my circumstances, also his is about a hobby, while mine is about career and industry.

I am an undergraduate student pursuing a double major in Computer Science B.S. and Mathematics B.S.

My dream career is to work in quant. finance. However, my school does not have a dedicated department to this field, resulting in lack of dedicated classes and opportunities for it. The page for "Mathematical Finance" is simply a white page with nothing but a list of three faculty members, linking to their page, two of which are Ph.D students.

I have found an associate professor who I believe can help answer a few of my questions and confusion about going down this path, but I have read a little here and generally, emails like this are frowned upon, and the last thing I want is for him to be offended by my request.

However, I don't really know any other professors or faculty members who would be able to give me insight on this.

My email would start off something like this

"I would just like to start off this email by saying please excuse me and forgive any informalities or unprofessionalism. I hope to not offend you with this sudden email from a student you do not know. I have found your email and page from MyCollege's "Mathematical Finance" page: mycollege.com/mathematical-finance"

Then I would say something along the lines of "given your expertise, what courses/concepts are important...what steps should I take now..."

And then finally I'd say something like "I know you are incredibly busy with research, school, among other things, so I hope you do not mind this email."

I will also make sure not to completely bombard him with questions, but ask general, non-pressuring questions.

Is this a bad idea? I am not quite sure where else to get in contact with someone in this field with such close proximity, and aside from LinkedIn with people I will probably never meet, this seems like my best bet.

EDIT: this might be a duplicate of OK to ask a professor at my institution with whom I have no previous relationship some questions relating to hobby-project? but this is about a community college professor who is not doing research, which may be different from my circumstances.

I am an undergraduate student pursuing a double major in Computer Science B.S. and Mathematics B.S.

My dream career is to work in quant. finance. However, my school does not have a dedicated department to this field, resulting in lack of dedicated classes and opportunities for it. The page for "Mathematical Finance" is simply a white page with nothing but a list of three faculty members, linking to their page, two of which are Ph.D students.

I have found an associate professor who I believe can help answer a few of my questions and confusion about going down this path, but I have read a little here and generally, emails like this are frowned upon, and the last thing I want is for him to be offended by my request.

However, I don't really know any other professors or faculty members who would be able to give me insight on this.

My email would start off something like this

"I would just like to start off this email by saying please excuse me and forgive any informalities or unprofessionalism. I hope to not offend you with this sudden email from a student you do not know. I have found your email and page from MyCollege's "Mathematical Finance" page: mycollege.com/mathematical-finance"

Then I would say something along the lines of "given your expertise, what courses/concepts are important...what steps should I take now..."

And then finally I'd say something like "I know you are incredibly busy with research, school, among other things, so I hope you do not mind this email."

I will also make sure not to completely bombard him with questions, but ask general, non-pressuring questions.

Is this a bad idea? I am not quite sure where else to get in contact with someone in this field with such close proximity, and aside from LinkedIn with people I will probably never meet, this seems like my best bet.

EDIT: this might be a duplicate of OK to ask a professor at my institution with whom I have no previous relationship some questions relating to hobby-project? but this is about a community college professor who is not doing research, which may be different from my circumstances, also his is about a hobby, while mine is about career and industry.

added 288 characters in body
Source Link
user134938
user134938

I am an undergraduate student pursuing a double major in Computer Science B.S. and Mathematics B.S.

My dream career is to work in quant. finance. However, my school does not have a dedicated department to this field, resulting in lack of dedicated classes and opportunities for it. The page for "Mathematical Finance" is simply a white page with nothing but a list of three faculty members, linking to their page, two of which are Ph.D students.

I have found an associate professor who I believe can help answer a few of my questions and confusion about going down this path, but I have read a little here and generally, emails like this are frowned upon, and the last thing I want is for him to be offended by my request.

However, I don't really know any other professors or faculty members who would be able to give me insight on this.

My email would start off something like this

"I would just like to start off this email by saying please excuse me and forgive any informalities or unprofessionalism. I hope to not offend you with this sudden email from a student you do not know. I have found your email and page from MyCollege's "Mathematical Finance" page: mycollege.com/mathematical-finance"

Then I would say something along the lines of "given your expertise, what courses/concepts are important...what steps should I take now..."

And then finally I'd say something like "I know you are incredibly busy with research, school, among other things, so I hope you do not mind this email."

I will also make sure not to completely bombard him with questions, but ask general, non-pressuring questions.

Is this a bad idea? I am not quite sure where else to get in contact with someone in this field with such close proximity, and aside from LinkedIn with people I will probably never meet, this seems like my best bet.

EDIT: this might be a duplicate of OK to ask a professor at my institution with whom I have no previous relationship some questions relating to hobby-project? but this is about a community college professor who is not doing research, which may be different from my circumstances.

I am an undergraduate student pursuing a double major in Computer Science B.S. and Mathematics B.S.

My dream career is to work in quant. finance. However, my school does not have a dedicated department to this field, resulting in lack of dedicated classes and opportunities for it. The page for "Mathematical Finance" is simply a white page with nothing but a list of three faculty members, linking to their page, two of which are Ph.D students.

I have found an associate professor who I believe can help answer a few of my questions and confusion about going down this path, but I have read a little here and generally, emails like this are frowned upon, and the last thing I want is for him to be offended by my request.

However, I don't really know any other professors or faculty members who would be able to give me insight on this.

My email would start off something like this

"I would just like to start off this email by saying please excuse me and forgive any informalities or unprofessionalism. I hope to not offend you with this sudden email from a student you do not know. I have found your email and page from MyCollege's "Mathematical Finance" page: mycollege.com/mathematical-finance"

Then I would say something along the lines of "given your expertise, what courses/concepts are important...what steps should I take now..."

And then finally I'd say something like "I know you are incredibly busy with research, school, among other things, so I hope you do not mind this email."

I will also make sure not to completely bombard him with questions, but ask general, non-pressuring questions.

Is this a bad idea? I am not quite sure where else to get in contact with someone in this field with such close proximity, and aside from LinkedIn with people I will probably never meet, this seems like my best bet.

I am an undergraduate student pursuing a double major in Computer Science B.S. and Mathematics B.S.

My dream career is to work in quant. finance. However, my school does not have a dedicated department to this field, resulting in lack of dedicated classes and opportunities for it. The page for "Mathematical Finance" is simply a white page with nothing but a list of three faculty members, linking to their page, two of which are Ph.D students.

I have found an associate professor who I believe can help answer a few of my questions and confusion about going down this path, but I have read a little here and generally, emails like this are frowned upon, and the last thing I want is for him to be offended by my request.

However, I don't really know any other professors or faculty members who would be able to give me insight on this.

My email would start off something like this

"I would just like to start off this email by saying please excuse me and forgive any informalities or unprofessionalism. I hope to not offend you with this sudden email from a student you do not know. I have found your email and page from MyCollege's "Mathematical Finance" page: mycollege.com/mathematical-finance"

Then I would say something along the lines of "given your expertise, what courses/concepts are important...what steps should I take now..."

And then finally I'd say something like "I know you are incredibly busy with research, school, among other things, so I hope you do not mind this email."

I will also make sure not to completely bombard him with questions, but ask general, non-pressuring questions.

Is this a bad idea? I am not quite sure where else to get in contact with someone in this field with such close proximity, and aside from LinkedIn with people I will probably never meet, this seems like my best bet.

EDIT: this might be a duplicate of OK to ask a professor at my institution with whom I have no previous relationship some questions relating to hobby-project? but this is about a community college professor who is not doing research, which may be different from my circumstances.

Source Link
user134938
user134938
Loading