Skip to main content
I explained the situation slightly wrong
Source Link
Tom Galvin
  • 391
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk:

enter image description here

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but it displaysencountered another problem: to the two partitions as type "msftdata"right of the Recovery partition and "msftres" respectivelyEFI System Partition, and refuses to let me move themwas a Microsoft Reserved Partition of size 128 MB with the flag msftres, toowhich could not be moved using gparted - effectively "trapping" the two partitions in.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by these meddling partitionsthis Microsoft Reserved Partition, probably created by the Windows installation process. Wikipedia states that deleting this partition can break the boot-loader which I'd rather not do.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk:

enter image description here

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but it displays the two partitions as type "msftdata" and "msftres" respectively, and refuses to let me move them, too.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by these meddling partitions, probably created by the Windows installation process.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk:

enter image description here

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but encountered another problem: to the right of the Recovery partition and EFI System Partition, was a Microsoft Reserved Partition of size 128 MB with the flag msftres, which could not be moved using gparted - effectively "trapping" the two partitions in.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by this Microsoft Reserved Partition, probably created by the Windows installation process. Wikipedia states that deleting this partition can break the boot-loader which I'd rather not do.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?

added 60 characters in body
Source Link
DavidPostill
  • 158.4k
  • 77
  • 365
  • 408

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk: http://i.imgur.com/7QV6u1g.png

enter image description here

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but it displays the two partitions as type "msftdata" and "msftres" respectively, and refuses to let me move them, too.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by these meddling partitions, probably created by the Windows installation process.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk: http://i.imgur.com/7QV6u1g.png

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but it displays the two partitions as type "msftdata" and "msftres" respectively, and refuses to let me move them, too.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by these meddling partitions, probably created by the Windows installation process.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk:

enter image description here

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but it displays the two partitions as type "msftdata" and "msftres" respectively, and refuses to let me move them, too.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by these meddling partitions, probably created by the Windows installation process.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?

Source Link
Tom Galvin
  • 391
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9

I want to expand a partition on my boot SSD, but there is a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way. How can I get around this?

Here is a screenshot in Windows Disk Management showing the partition layout on my disk: http://i.imgur.com/7QV6u1g.png

I wish to expand the Windows partition (C:\ drive, "Boot") into the 16 GB of unallocated space. However, Windows has "helpfully" put a Recovery Partition and EFI System Partition in the way, preventing me from expanding the Boot partition. Neither can be moved in Disk Management. I tried to use a live CD with gparted, but it displays the two partitions as type "msftdata" and "msftres" respectively, and refuses to let me move them, too.

My technique would have been to move the two partitions to the right, move the Boot partition to the right by 550 MB, put the two partitions in the newly created space, and then expand the Boot partition. However, this has been foiled by these meddling partitions, probably created by the Windows installation process.

How can I expand my boot partition without full-on formatting the SSD and starting fresh?