Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 22, 2015 at 8:53 answer added Kristoffer Lindahl timeline score: 0
S Aug 28, 2014 at 23:30 history bounty ended countermode
S Aug 28, 2014 at 23:30 history notice removed countermode
Aug 25, 2014 at 11:08 comment added harrymc My last trick that I can contribute is in Guest isolation to disable drag & drop, click OK, then re-enable and again OK. Sometimes this makes it work until next time (using VMware tools). Sometimes also reinstalling VMware tools again makes it work for at least the current session.
Aug 25, 2014 at 10:41 comment added countermode Well, the prebuilt tools themselves do work - kind of. I have the same problem as described in the Q with them and did some VMware-Kung-Fu just to achieve nothing at all. But the VMware kernel drivers (e.g. for vmhgfs) simply don't build. This is why I dumped VMware tools.
Aug 25, 2014 at 9:58 comment added harrymc VMware tools were always a PITA, but might work better than open-vm-tools in your case. As I said, impossible to predict which configuration and VM will have that problem. I think it's better to avoid suspending the VM, because VMware tools in my case don't fully work on power up. Funny that you can't find a pre-built version.
Aug 25, 2014 at 8:57 comment added countermode As I said, I'm using open-vm-tools (freshly updated); VMware tools are just a PITA. At least for Gentoo they simply suck.
Aug 25, 2014 at 8:55 comment added harrymc Try to reinstall VMware tools. Sometimes it helps, but in my experience the problem always returns. You could open a ticket with VMware Support, but this very old problem exists on many configurations since long time and was never solved.
Aug 23, 2014 at 19:42 answer added jjk_charles timeline score: 7
S Aug 22, 2014 at 6:56 history bounty started countermode
S Aug 22, 2014 at 6:56 history notice added countermode Draw attention
Aug 14, 2014 at 8:28 history asked countermode CC BY-SA 3.0