Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Removed obsolete tag
Link
Burgi
  • 6.6k
  • 14
  • 40
  • 52
replaced http://networkengineering.stackexchange.com/ with https://networkengineering.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

For the last few weeks I have been trying to configure a wired access point. Eventually I want this to be wireless, but I thought best start with wired. Below are some details

Hardware

  • Broadband connection – Cable modem
  • Router A - Linksys WRT54G V8 -> Configured as wireless
  • Router B - Linksys WRT54G V2.2 -> Attempting to configure as wired

Current Status

Router is configured for DHCP. The wireless network is and has been working for longtime. I am trying to add another wired access point.

Current Network Configuration

  • Router A IP: 192.168.x1.y1
  • Router A DHCP server: enabled
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.y150
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

Basic Wireless settings

  • Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
  • Wireless Network Name (SSID): Router_A
  • Wireless Channel: 6
  • Wireless SSID broadcast enabled
  • Wireless Security Mode: WEP (Testing)

New Network extension

Wiring Considerations: Wired Ethernet CAT cable from Router A LAN port to Router B LAN port

  • Router A settings are the same
  • Router B Internet Connection Type : Automatic Configuration - DHCP
  • Router B IP: 192.168.x1.254
  • Router B DHCP server disable
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.100
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

The above was primary followed from “How to Convert to Be an Access Point

I also have tried Converting Cheap Router to Wireless AP Instructions

I posted the same question on "Configuring a Wired Access Point"Configuring a Wired Access Point", and was suggested that I try superuser forum.

I also have read the following post "Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point"

I hope someone can shed some light on what is wrong in my setup.

For the last few weeks I have been trying to configure a wired access point. Eventually I want this to be wireless, but I thought best start with wired. Below are some details

Hardware

  • Broadband connection – Cable modem
  • Router A - Linksys WRT54G V8 -> Configured as wireless
  • Router B - Linksys WRT54G V2.2 -> Attempting to configure as wired

Current Status

Router is configured for DHCP. The wireless network is and has been working for longtime. I am trying to add another wired access point.

Current Network Configuration

  • Router A IP: 192.168.x1.y1
  • Router A DHCP server: enabled
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.y150
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

Basic Wireless settings

  • Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
  • Wireless Network Name (SSID): Router_A
  • Wireless Channel: 6
  • Wireless SSID broadcast enabled
  • Wireless Security Mode: WEP (Testing)

New Network extension

Wiring Considerations: Wired Ethernet CAT cable from Router A LAN port to Router B LAN port

  • Router A settings are the same
  • Router B Internet Connection Type : Automatic Configuration - DHCP
  • Router B IP: 192.168.x1.254
  • Router B DHCP server disable
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.100
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

The above was primary followed from “How to Convert to Be an Access Point

I also have tried Converting Cheap Router to Wireless AP Instructions

I posted the same question on "Configuring a Wired Access Point", and was suggested that I try superuser forum.

I also have read the following post "Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point"

I hope someone can shed some light on what is wrong in my setup.

For the last few weeks I have been trying to configure a wired access point. Eventually I want this to be wireless, but I thought best start with wired. Below are some details

Hardware

  • Broadband connection – Cable modem
  • Router A - Linksys WRT54G V8 -> Configured as wireless
  • Router B - Linksys WRT54G V2.2 -> Attempting to configure as wired

Current Status

Router is configured for DHCP. The wireless network is and has been working for longtime. I am trying to add another wired access point.

Current Network Configuration

  • Router A IP: 192.168.x1.y1
  • Router A DHCP server: enabled
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.y150
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

Basic Wireless settings

  • Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
  • Wireless Network Name (SSID): Router_A
  • Wireless Channel: 6
  • Wireless SSID broadcast enabled
  • Wireless Security Mode: WEP (Testing)

New Network extension

Wiring Considerations: Wired Ethernet CAT cable from Router A LAN port to Router B LAN port

  • Router A settings are the same
  • Router B Internet Connection Type : Automatic Configuration - DHCP
  • Router B IP: 192.168.x1.254
  • Router B DHCP server disable
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.100
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

The above was primary followed from “How to Convert to Be an Access Point

I also have tried Converting Cheap Router to Wireless AP Instructions

I posted the same question on "Configuring a Wired Access Point", and was suggested that I try superuser forum.

I also have read the following post "Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point"

I hope someone can shed some light on what is wrong in my setup.

replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

For the last few weeks I have been trying to configure a wired access point. Eventually I want this to be wireless, but I thought best start with wired. Below are some details

Hardware

  • Broadband connection – Cable modem
  • Router A - Linksys WRT54G V8 -> Configured as wireless
  • Router B - Linksys WRT54G V2.2 -> Attempting to configure as wired

Current Status

Router is configured for DHCP. The wireless network is and has been working for longtime. I am trying to add another wired access point.

Current Network Configuration

  • Router A IP: 192.168.x1.y1
  • Router A DHCP server: enabled
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.y150
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

Basic Wireless settings

  • Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
  • Wireless Network Name (SSID): Router_A
  • Wireless Channel: 6
  • Wireless SSID broadcast enabled
  • Wireless Security Mode: WEP (Testing)

New Network extension

Wiring Considerations: Wired Ethernet CAT cable from Router A LAN port to Router B LAN port

  • Router A settings are the same
  • Router B Internet Connection Type : Automatic Configuration - DHCP
  • Router B IP: 192.168.x1.254
  • Router B DHCP server disable
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.100
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

The above was primary followed from “How to Convert to Be an Access Point

I also have tried Converting Cheap Router to Wireless AP Instructions

I posted the same question on "Configuring a Wired Access Point", and was suggested that I try superuser forum.

I also have read the following post "Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point""Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point"

I hope someone can shed some light on what is wrong in my setup.

For the last few weeks I have been trying to configure a wired access point. Eventually I want this to be wireless, but I thought best start with wired. Below are some details

Hardware

  • Broadband connection – Cable modem
  • Router A - Linksys WRT54G V8 -> Configured as wireless
  • Router B - Linksys WRT54G V2.2 -> Attempting to configure as wired

Current Status

Router is configured for DHCP. The wireless network is and has been working for longtime. I am trying to add another wired access point.

Current Network Configuration

  • Router A IP: 192.168.x1.y1
  • Router A DHCP server: enabled
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.y150
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

Basic Wireless settings

  • Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
  • Wireless Network Name (SSID): Router_A
  • Wireless Channel: 6
  • Wireless SSID broadcast enabled
  • Wireless Security Mode: WEP (Testing)

New Network extension

Wiring Considerations: Wired Ethernet CAT cable from Router A LAN port to Router B LAN port

  • Router A settings are the same
  • Router B Internet Connection Type : Automatic Configuration - DHCP
  • Router B IP: 192.168.x1.254
  • Router B DHCP server disable
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.100
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

The above was primary followed from “How to Convert to Be an Access Point

I also have tried Converting Cheap Router to Wireless AP Instructions

I posted the same question on "Configuring a Wired Access Point", and was suggested that I try superuser forum.

I also have read the following post "Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point"

I hope someone can shed some light on what is wrong in my setup.

For the last few weeks I have been trying to configure a wired access point. Eventually I want this to be wireless, but I thought best start with wired. Below are some details

Hardware

  • Broadband connection – Cable modem
  • Router A - Linksys WRT54G V8 -> Configured as wireless
  • Router B - Linksys WRT54G V2.2 -> Attempting to configure as wired

Current Status

Router is configured for DHCP. The wireless network is and has been working for longtime. I am trying to add another wired access point.

Current Network Configuration

  • Router A IP: 192.168.x1.y1
  • Router A DHCP server: enabled
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.y150
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

Basic Wireless settings

  • Wireless Network Mode: Mixed
  • Wireless Network Name (SSID): Router_A
  • Wireless Channel: 6
  • Wireless SSID broadcast enabled
  • Wireless Security Mode: WEP (Testing)

New Network extension

Wiring Considerations: Wired Ethernet CAT cable from Router A LAN port to Router B LAN port

  • Router A settings are the same
  • Router B Internet Connection Type : Automatic Configuration - DHCP
  • Router B IP: 192.168.x1.254
  • Router B DHCP server disable
  • Starting IP address 192.168.x1.100
  • Maximum number of DHPC user 50

The above was primary followed from “How to Convert to Be an Access Point

I also have tried Converting Cheap Router to Wireless AP Instructions

I posted the same question on "Configuring a Wired Access Point", and was suggested that I try superuser forum.

I also have read the following post "Incorrect configuration of Linksys WRT54GL as wired router with Linsys WRT54GS as wireless access point"

I hope someone can shed some light on what is wrong in my setup.

added 6 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading