Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 6, 2013 at 21:05 vote accept Paya
Mar 6, 2013 at 19:28 answer added David Schwartz timeline score: 1
Mar 6, 2013 at 14:44 comment added Paya By the way, I've found a DD-WRT router home and I turned the WAN port into LAN port, so I use just 2 routers after all. Thanks again. :-)
Mar 6, 2013 at 13:58 comment added Paya @DavidSchwartz Just wanted to tell you that your solution works. Even though having to use third router because I use 2 in the first place is not what I expected to be the solution, it works really well. Thanks. If you post your comment explaining how to connect the routers to LAN ports, I will accept it as an answer.
Mar 6, 2013 at 1:24 comment added Paya The router 2 is Tenda W306R. Unfortunately I don't have a switch. I don't see the ability to use WAN port as additional LAN port anywhere in the options. :-( I guess I'm gonna need 3rd router.
Mar 6, 2013 at 1:08 comment added David Schwartz Some routers allow you to use their WAN port as an additional LAN port. What models are they? You could also use a switch, if you have one, to add more LAN ports.
Mar 6, 2013 at 1:06 comment added Paya Heh that sounds like a cool solution if that would work. But the funny thing is that all LAN ports of Router 2 are taken. I guess I would need to attach 3rd router to have enough ports and do this trick on both.
Mar 6, 2013 at 1:01 comment added David Schwartz So connect router 2's LAN port to router 1's wired port. Disable router 2's DHCP server. Connect wired machines to router 2's other LAN ports. You will never be happy with a dual-NAT setup.
Mar 6, 2013 at 1:00 comment added Paya Router 1 is also modem, I cannot move it around. To access Router 2 subnetwork, I just need to address Router 2 WAN address ... I need to get running the file sharing and other incoming connections are not required. But I would need to use port redirecting otherwise obviously.
Mar 6, 2013 at 0:57 comment added David Schwartz So why not connect the Internet access to router 2 and use router 1 just as a switch and access point? Or connect router 1's wired port to router 2's LAN port and connect other wired machines to router 2? Or something that makes sense.
Mar 6, 2013 at 0:56 comment added Paya Because some PCs don't have Wifi and the Wifi router (Router 1) is not accessible by multiple cables.
Mar 6, 2013 at 0:54 comment added David Schwartz Why is your network set up this way?! Why not flatten it? Dual NAT sucks. (Your setup is very broken. How would a packet from 192.168.4.20 to 192.168.3.10 ever get to router 2?)
Mar 6, 2013 at 0:52 history asked Paya CC BY-SA 3.0