Skip to main content
expanded
Source Link

RAID with 3 x 500GB on 3 disks? (9 partitions)

Looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

  • 500GB SATA Barracuda
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB, and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?


EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3, so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive?

Open to StripeStriping two of the 3, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x2x speed at say aaccessing 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the threetwo Western HDD failed. Then Mirror the pair striped, to the Barracuda for redundancy


EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

RAID x 500GB on 3 disks?

Looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

  • 500GB SATA Barracuda
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB, and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?


EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3, so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive?

Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed.


EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

RAID with 3 x 500GB on 3 disks? (9 partitions)

Looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

  • 500GB SATA Barracuda
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB, and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?


EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3, so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive?

Open to Striping two of the 3, but as I understand it, that would get me 2x speed accessing 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the two Western HDD failed. Then Mirror the pair striped, to the Barracuda for redundancy


EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

added 20 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56k
  • 22
  • 167
  • 214

RAID 9 x 500GB on 3 disks?

lookingLooking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

500GB SATA Barracuda

2.0TB SATA Western

2.0TB SATA Western

500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

  • 500GB SATA Barracuda
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB  , and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question isMy Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?

Thanks

 

EDITEDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3  , so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive? Open

Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed.

 

EDIT#2EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

RAID 9 x 500GB on 3 disks?

looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

500GB SATA Barracuda

2.0TB SATA Western

2.0TB SATA Western

500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB  , and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?

Thanks

EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3  , so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive? Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed

EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

RAID x 500GB on 3 disks?

Looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

  • 500GB SATA Barracuda
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 2.0TB SATA Western
  • 500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB, and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?

 

EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3, so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive?

Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed.

 

EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

added 27 characters in body
Source Link

looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

500GB SATA Barracuda

2.0TB SATA Western

2.0TB SATA Western

500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB , and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?

Thanks

EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3 , so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive? Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed

EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

500GB SATA

2.0TB SATA

2.0TB SATA

500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB , and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?

Thanks

EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3 , so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive? Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed

EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

looking to set up a photography PC slash storage. Below is my disk drives

500GB SATA Barracuda

2.0TB SATA Western

2.0TB SATA Western

500GB ePCI NVMN --- use this as the PC

It occured to me, if I partition the 2TB in 4x500GB , and same for the second one, I have 9 500GB partitions. Allowing Raid with 3 partions (one from each drive)

My Question is: the remaining 1.5TB in 500GB chunks on each drive (so 3TB total) - can I then use this as per normal, as in not part of the RAID setup?

Thanks

EDIT: Raid Mirror if it was just the 500GB x 3 , so mirror and have an extra redundancy drive? Open to Stripe, but as I understand it, that would get me 3x speed at say a 500GB across three drives, but zero redundancy, in fact higher risk of data loss if one of the three HDD failed

EDIT#2: Windows 10 System - https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/2s9nyg

added 72 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
typo
Source Link
Loading
answering a Q from comment
Source Link
Loading
deleted 9 characters in body
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137
Loading
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading