Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 95 characters in body
Source Link
Kalamalka Kid
  • 2.6k
  • 3
  • 32
  • 66

While recently trying to located some lost files, I noticed that my Windows Explorer search was not functioning properly. As a test, I typed in a file I knew existed in a location:

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Pro\11.0\Profile\Layouts\WorkspaceConfig.xml

so I typed this in the search field in Windows Explorer (searching the entire C drive), and the search results came back empty.

I ran a second test on C drive for another random file and the same thing happened. No results. I also tried logging into another account on Windows (barebone), with the same issues present.

Can anyone explain this, and what I might do to go about fixing it?

Running Windows 10 Pro 21H1 OS build 19043.1586

While recently trying to located some lost files, I noticed that my Windows Explorer search was not functioning properly. As a test, I typed in a file I knew existed in a location:

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Pro\11.0\Profile\Layouts\WorkspaceConfig.xml

so I typed this in the search field in Windows Explorer (searching the entire C drive), and the search results came back empty.

I ran a second test on C drive for another random file and the same thing happened. No results.

Can anyone explain this, and what I might do to go about fixing it?

Running Windows 10 Pro 21H1 OS build 19043.1586

While recently trying to located some lost files, I noticed that my Windows Explorer search was not functioning properly. As a test, I typed in a file I knew existed in a location:

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Pro\11.0\Profile\Layouts\WorkspaceConfig.xml

so I typed this in the search field in Windows Explorer (searching the entire C drive), and the search results came back empty.

I ran a second test on C drive for another random file and the same thing happened. No results. I also tried logging into another account on Windows (barebone), with the same issues present.

Can anyone explain this, and what I might do to go about fixing it?

Running Windows 10 Pro 21H1 OS build 19043.1586

Source Link
Kalamalka Kid
  • 2.6k
  • 3
  • 32
  • 66

Windows 10 Explorer search cant find files

While recently trying to located some lost files, I noticed that my Windows Explorer search was not functioning properly. As a test, I typed in a file I knew existed in a location:

C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\Adobe\Premiere Pro\11.0\Profile\Layouts\WorkspaceConfig.xml

so I typed this in the search field in Windows Explorer (searching the entire C drive), and the search results came back empty.

I ran a second test on C drive for another random file and the same thing happened. No results.

Can anyone explain this, and what I might do to go about fixing it?

Running Windows 10 Pro 21H1 OS build 19043.1586