Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with harrymc's answer chosen by CommunityBot
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1369890839648931845
Notice added Draw attention by M.Viking
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by M.Viking
added 331 characters in body
Source Link
Luke Vo
  • 1.7k
  • 5
  • 25
  • 30

Note that this is NOT the Cache folder. It's the Cache of Service Worker, the path should be AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Service Worker.

Recently I noticed my hard drive is almost full so I want to clean it up. I noticed the while the Cache folder is acceptable (200MB), the cache of Service Worker folder is so big (> 1GB). I tried unregister all the service workers but the cache folder is still there.

Can I safely just delete them from Windows Explorer?

P.s: as a developer, I am amazed by the amount of registered service workers. Most of them are trackers and useless stuff I should have removed before.


I have read this article but it didn't work for me because:

  • I don't want to delete cookies as well, I need them. Unfortunately Chrome/Edge group that into one option.

  • I can't just go to each website to delete individual Service Worker cache.

Note that this is NOT the Cache folder. It's the Cache of Service Worker, the path should be AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Service Worker.

Recently I noticed my hard drive is almost full so I want to clean it up. I noticed the while the Cache folder is acceptable (200MB), the cache of Service Worker folder is so big (> 1GB). I tried unregister all the service workers but the cache folder is still there.

Can I safely just delete them from Windows Explorer?

P.s: as a developer, I am amazed by the amount of registered service workers. Most of them are trackers and useless stuff I should have removed before.

Note that this is NOT the Cache folder. It's the Cache of Service Worker, the path should be AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Service Worker.

Recently I noticed my hard drive is almost full so I want to clean it up. I noticed the while the Cache folder is acceptable (200MB), the cache of Service Worker folder is so big (> 1GB). I tried unregister all the service workers but the cache folder is still there.

Can I safely just delete them from Windows Explorer?

P.s: as a developer, I am amazed by the amount of registered service workers. Most of them are trackers and useless stuff I should have removed before.


I have read this article but it didn't work for me because:

  • I don't want to delete cookies as well, I need them. Unfortunately Chrome/Edge group that into one option.

  • I can't just go to each website to delete individual Service Worker cache.

Source Link
Luke Vo
  • 1.7k
  • 5
  • 25
  • 30

How to clear Chrome/Chromium Edge Service Worker cache?

Note that this is NOT the Cache folder. It's the Cache of Service Worker, the path should be AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Service Worker.

Recently I noticed my hard drive is almost full so I want to clean it up. I noticed the while the Cache folder is acceptable (200MB), the cache of Service Worker folder is so big (> 1GB). I tried unregister all the service workers but the cache folder is still there.

Can I safely just delete them from Windows Explorer?

P.s: as a developer, I am amazed by the amount of registered service workers. Most of them are trackers and useless stuff I should have removed before.