Skip to main content
21 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 14, 2019 at 12:43 history edited b_jonas CC BY-SA 4.0
added 147 characters in body
S Oct 20, 2018 at 0:12 history bounty ended Bob
S Oct 20, 2018 at 0:12 history notice removed Bob
Oct 18, 2018 at 17:14 comment added Albin This question has not received enough attention. ; )
Oct 12, 2018 at 18:14 answer added Albin timeline score: 2
Oct 12, 2018 at 17:05 comment added s1ns3nt If you still have the actual "older" version of the personal installer, try uninstalling and reinstalling it, but make sure you pick the "only install for me" option when it's installing. Start it, let it run its update and see if it recreates the shortcut again. IIRC, it doesn't install the shortcut in Public this way, which should mean you settings stick...
Oct 12, 2018 at 16:35 comment added b_jonas @s1ns3nt The new shortcut was installed to "C:\Users\Public\Desktop\Skype.lnk" and points to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Skype for Desktop\Skype.exe". The personal Skype program was running and logged in before the update, but it got closed automatically when I confirmed to allow the Skype update. After the update, the Skype program restarted automatically, and I'm still logged in with my personal account.
Oct 12, 2018 at 15:44 comment added s1ns3nt Can you tell which Skype did that update? I'm betting your "personal" Skype was installed with the "all users" option if it's there (which would install the shortcut in the Public user's profile, instead of yours).
S Oct 12, 2018 at 14:19 history bounty started Bob
S Oct 12, 2018 at 14:19 history notice added Bob Draw attention
Oct 12, 2018 at 10:35 comment added b_jonas This problem still exists with the update I installed today.
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:47 history edited b_jonas CC BY-SA 4.0
added 751 characters in body
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:41 comment added b_jonas @Bob Wait, there's a complication. The machine also has another version of skype included, which I think is the business version, and may have come with MS Office 365 Business (that latter is definitely installed). I forgot about that one, because I specifically asked for the non-Business version so I can use my existing Skype account. That version has a start menu shortcut and is "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\root\Office16\lync.exe". But I think the consumer version is to blame here, because the desktop shortcut points to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Skype for Desktop\Skype.exe".
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:36 comment added Bob Ok, that sounds like desktop consumer Skype.
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:35 comment added b_jonas @Bob The menu says "Help and feedback", the "Settings" window on the "Help & Feedback" tab that it opens says "Skype version 8.29.0.50; © 2018 Skype & Microsoft; (✓) You're on the latest version of Skype", a blue icon with white S in it, and a set of help topics.
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:32 comment added b_jonas @Bob This is a workstation I use exclusively for my job at a small business, the HW and OS is owned by the company but I'm the only user and do most of the user sysadmin tasks. There's a co-worker who is part-time dedicated sysadmin, he installed Windows to the machine, and installed Skype on my request. I think it's not Skype for Business, but consumer Skype, but I'm not sure.
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:17 comment added Bob Wait. Another admin? Is this a business machine? Are you talking normal consumer Skype, or Skype for Business (which is Lync rebranded, a separate application that comes with Office 365 for business)?
Sep 4, 2018 at 12:16 comment added Bob Click the 3 horizontal dots (menu) => About this version for UWP, or the 3 horizontal dots => Help and feedback for desktop. UWP is currently on 12.x, Desktop is currently on 8.29.
Sep 4, 2018 at 11:59 comment added b_jonas @Bob: I don't know what I'm using. Another admin installed Skype on the machine. Do you have a specific procedure for checking which version I have? Should I make screenshots?
Sep 4, 2018 at 11:48 comment added Bob Are you using the desktop ("classic"/win32) or UWP (store) version of Skype? "the version that is composed of a traditional windows program and a metro-style windows app" implies you have ... both? Last I checked they're separate.
Sep 4, 2018 at 11:05 history asked b_jonas CC BY-SA 4.0