Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 20, 2018 at 0:12 history bounty ended Bob
Oct 18, 2018 at 18:07 comment added Albin @b_jonas No, that shouldn't make any difference. Skype is still has "admin rights" (if it's started by a "restricted user" with admin rights), it's just not allowed to write to the Desktop folder for all users (because the user who started it doesn't have this right) but it still can access all the other folders.
Oct 18, 2018 at 17:58 comment added b_jonas Skype is installed on this computer for all users, so the auto-updater has to be able to update it for all users. I think it needs some admin privilages for that. Would I have to reinstall Skype for just one user?
Oct 18, 2018 at 17:55 comment added Albin @b_jonas The auto-updater can't have more rights then skype which (as far as I understand) starts the auto-updater. Unless you manually assign it more rights, it "should" work (I hope). Let me know and don't forget to assign the bounty (unless you don't wont to assign it).
Oct 18, 2018 at 17:46 comment added b_jonas I will try something like this. But I believe that it's not the Skype process itself that's installing the shortcut, but the auto-updater, which I think runs with administrator privilages, so I don't think that limiting the permissions of the Skype process itself will help.
Oct 12, 2018 at 18:52 history edited Albin CC BY-SA 4.0
added 59 characters in body
Oct 12, 2018 at 18:22 history edited Albin CC BY-SA 4.0
added 392 characters in body
Oct 12, 2018 at 18:14 history answered Albin CC BY-SA 4.0