Skip to main content

This post here:

New motherboard or new PC to gain access to RAID drives

Suggests that if I am using a software raid, I can swap out the motherboard with no issue as long as I am using the same OS.

This post here Defines how to detect whether or not your raid is software raid or not: http://michaelsanford.com/how-can-i-tell-if-im-using-hardware-or-software-raid/

Which I have:

Raid SetupRaid Setup

I believe I should be safe to install the new motherboard and raid card (New motherboard lacks enough sata ports) due to it being a software raid, I just wanted to clarify before attempting due to the nature of the raid being a nas raid.

Thanks in advance.

This post here:

New motherboard or new PC to gain access to RAID drives

Suggests that if I am using a software raid, I can swap out the motherboard with no issue as long as I am using the same OS.

This post here Defines how to detect whether or not your raid is software raid or not: http://michaelsanford.com/how-can-i-tell-if-im-using-hardware-or-software-raid/

Which I have:

Raid Setup

I believe I should be safe to install the new motherboard and raid card (New motherboard lacks enough sata ports) due to it being a software raid, I just wanted to clarify before attempting due to the nature of the raid being a nas raid.

Thanks in advance.

This post here:

New motherboard or new PC to gain access to RAID drives

Suggests that if I am using a software raid, I can swap out the motherboard with no issue as long as I am using the same OS.

This post here Defines how to detect whether or not your raid is software raid or not: http://michaelsanford.com/how-can-i-tell-if-im-using-hardware-or-software-raid/

Which I have:

Raid Setup

I believe I should be safe to install the new motherboard and raid card (New motherboard lacks enough sata ports) due to it being a software raid, I just wanted to clarify before attempting due to the nature of the raid being a nas raid.

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/849855132384862208
edited tags
Link
Baz G
  • 21
  • 2
Source Link
Baz G
  • 21
  • 2

Am I OK to replace motherboard and add new RAID card with this RAID setup?

This post here:

New motherboard or new PC to gain access to RAID drives

Suggests that if I am using a software raid, I can swap out the motherboard with no issue as long as I am using the same OS.

This post here Defines how to detect whether or not your raid is software raid or not: http://michaelsanford.com/how-can-i-tell-if-im-using-hardware-or-software-raid/

Which I have:

Raid Setup

I believe I should be safe to install the new motherboard and raid card (New motherboard lacks enough sata ports) due to it being a software raid, I just wanted to clarify before attempting due to the nature of the raid being a nas raid.

Thanks in advance.