Skip to main content
added 497 characters in body
Source Link
Aditya
  • 121
  • 5

THE SCENARIO
I am using Vagrant,Windows environment and running Ubuntu inside the virtual box for my development work. I have setup an instance of Samba server and I run the I access the virtual machine through vagrant and Git Bash and run the command
net use A: \\192.168.91.11\www vagrant /persistent:no /user:vagrant
in windows cmd. This creates a virtual drive in Windows and I can access all the linux files from windows. Git related operations run fine with the Bash CLI. I want to try and setup a Git GUI like TortoiseGit.

THE PROBLEM
I am not able to see the .git folder inside the virtual drive. I have already tried to change the folder options to show hidden folders, show archives, remove the readonly on the drive, but still the .git folder remains hidden. The .git folder is visible when I run the ll command on the CLI. However it remains hidden when I access the virtual drive from windows. I wonder if there even is a way to use a gui in this setup. Excuse the long description but I need some advice here. If there is any other way to implement a GUI in this setup, I'm all ears! Thanks.

EDIT enter image description here
So I cloned my repository and on viewing the list, I see the .git folder as shows in the screen shot above.

enter image description here

But when I see the same folder in the virtual drive, it does not show up. I have already set the required properties like show archives, hidden files and unchecked readonly.

THE SCENARIO
I am using Vagrant,Windows environment and running Ubuntu inside the virtual box for my development work. I have setup an instance of Samba server and I run the I access the virtual machine through vagrant and Git Bash and run the command
net use A: \\192.168.91.11\www vagrant /persistent:no /user:vagrant
in windows cmd. This creates a virtual drive in Windows and I can access all the linux files from windows. Git related operations run fine with the Bash CLI. I want to try and setup a Git GUI like TortoiseGit.

THE PROBLEM
I am not able to see the .git folder inside the virtual drive. I have already tried to change the folder options to show hidden folders, show archives, remove the readonly on the drive, but still the .git folder remains hidden. The .git folder is visible when I run the ll command on the CLI. However it remains hidden when I access the virtual drive from windows. I wonder if there even is a way to use a gui in this setup. Excuse the long description but I need some advice here. If there is any other way to implement a GUI in this setup, I'm all ears! Thanks.

THE SCENARIO
I am using Vagrant,Windows environment and running Ubuntu inside the virtual box for my development work. I have setup an instance of Samba server and I run the I access the virtual machine through vagrant and Git Bash and run the command
net use A: \\192.168.91.11\www vagrant /persistent:no /user:vagrant
in windows cmd. This creates a virtual drive in Windows and I can access all the linux files from windows. Git related operations run fine with the Bash CLI. I want to try and setup a Git GUI like TortoiseGit.

THE PROBLEM
I am not able to see the .git folder inside the virtual drive. I have already tried to change the folder options to show hidden folders, show archives, remove the readonly on the drive, but still the .git folder remains hidden. The .git folder is visible when I run the ll command on the CLI. However it remains hidden when I access the virtual drive from windows. I wonder if there even is a way to use a gui in this setup. Excuse the long description but I need some advice here. If there is any other way to implement a GUI in this setup, I'm all ears! Thanks.

EDIT enter image description here
So I cloned my repository and on viewing the list, I see the .git folder as shows in the screen shot above.

enter image description here

But when I see the same folder in the virtual drive, it does not show up. I have already set the required properties like show archives, hidden files and unchecked readonly.

Source Link
Aditya
  • 121
  • 5

Git GUI on Windows not seeing .git folder from Samba share

THE SCENARIO
I am using Vagrant,Windows environment and running Ubuntu inside the virtual box for my development work. I have setup an instance of Samba server and I run the I access the virtual machine through vagrant and Git Bash and run the command
net use A: \\192.168.91.11\www vagrant /persistent:no /user:vagrant
in windows cmd. This creates a virtual drive in Windows and I can access all the linux files from windows. Git related operations run fine with the Bash CLI. I want to try and setup a Git GUI like TortoiseGit.

THE PROBLEM
I am not able to see the .git folder inside the virtual drive. I have already tried to change the folder options to show hidden folders, show archives, remove the readonly on the drive, but still the .git folder remains hidden. The .git folder is visible when I run the ll command on the CLI. However it remains hidden when I access the virtual drive from windows. I wonder if there even is a way to use a gui in this setup. Excuse the long description but I need some advice here. If there is any other way to implement a GUI in this setup, I'm all ears! Thanks.