Zara Rahman’s Post

View profile for Zara Rahman, graphic

Yesterday, I spoke at #rp24. The title of my talk was "We're More Than What They Say We Are: Solidarity for Data Justice" and originally, I planned to talk mainly about the topics I cover in my book. The last few weeks, days and months changed that, though. I'm not able to stand and talk to anyone, let alone on a stage in front of lots of people, without mentioning what's going on in Palestine. It hurts my heart that regular life is just...happening, while such horrors are happening there. So, I wrote a new talk which feels much more true to where my heart and mind is right now, and reflects far better what I care about. I've just sent out a newsletter issue where I summarise some of my main points: https://lnkd.in/egDBFT4E And the shortest version is this: Digital rights violations are harms caused by structural violence. It’s never "just" that data rights or digital rights are being violated. All that most digital systems do is reinforce, or often even strengthen, the status quo. That means that the only way to meaningfully address those harms, is by working to dismantle those systems, and build new ones. ** update, the video of the talk is already online: https://lnkd.in/eB4FQ6-D

Distillations/Constellations #7: there's no data justice without justice

Distillations/Constellations #7: there's no data justice without justice

buttondown.email

Sara M. Watson

Independent Industry Analyst and Technology Critic

1mo

Powerful message, Zara! So glad I got to hear your talk and that we got to hold space for each other IRL.

Corinna Vetter

Advocacy Lead at Superrr Lab

1mo

Thank you so much Zara for such a powerful talk.

Violeta Camarasa

PhD Candidate (Communications)∼ Critical Internet/AI Studies + Platform Studies + Web3

1mo

Thanks for sharing this, Zara Rahman! Will you be at MozFest House in Amsterdam, by any chance?? :)

Like
Reply
Adiba Afros

Apparel supply chain sustainability | gender l workers' rights l research

1mo

Thank you for sharing this insightful and honest talk Zara. Greatly admire your work!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics