The College Board’s Post

View organization page for The College Board, graphic

91,227 followers

Jacob Nguyen’s work was selected for the 2023 AP Art and Design Digital Exhibit, which features exceptional artwork from AP students' final portfolios. Learn more about Jacob's work: http://spr.ly/60439yNZh From Jacob: "Tóc giống tổ quạ (tahp yahm toe wah) is Vietnamese for hair like a crow’s nest; it was a phrase my family lovingly teased me with when my hair became large and curlier, unlike my family's shiny, straight black hair. Crow’s Nest/Tổ Quạ takes this idea literally; my head and hair are held up by my hands proudly as I let her and her young nest in my hair. I found the pallet in the garbage and felt inspired by the natural texture of wood, and it reminded me of the resourcefulness of crows as well. I took risks and painted a lot on many unconventional surfaces than just canvas or wood panels, as it added depth to the idea I was painting. My sustained investigation explores the connection between self-portraiture and personal struggles with identity and mental health. This investigation was instrumental in my growth as it allowed me to make difficult emotions and memories tangible so those terrible feelings didn’t feel insurmountable." #APArt #APArtandDesign

  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics