Nate Roy’s Post

View profile for Nate Roy, graphic

Constructor | Search & Product Discovery | E-commerce | Retail

I saw some pretty cool data from one of Forrester's analysts this morning on LinkedIn. According to their May 2024 Consumer Pulse, 28% of US online adults (35% UK) say they're using MORE buy online, pick up in-store fulfillment services than they used to. I personally relate to this a lot, and I'm sure a lot of you do too. I recently picked up a new monitor from a big box store near me rather than Amazon (even though their price was slightly lower) because I could order and pick it up the same day. Maybe it sounds strange, but there are lots of porch pirates in my neighborhood and I don't like having that sort of stuff dropped off on my front steps when I can avoid it. The growing popularity of BOPIS does add some interesting complexity to B2C product discovery, though. To provide the best possible experience for your customers, it means your search bar needs to be conscious of location-specific inventory -- in addition to traditional fulfillment options -- and rank results accordingly. Nothing more annoying than seeing a BOPIS button, clicking into the PDP, then finding out it's not actually available at your local store 😬

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics