Nadine Schaeffer’s Post

View profile for Nadine Schaeffer, graphic

Farmer & Designer

Leaving the tech industry was, in hindsight, the best choice I have made in the past decade, probably in my entire career. This fellow's post deeply reflects my transition from tech to agriculture. It's been unbelievably healing to escape toxic tech offices and regain my soul.

View profile for Joshua Brown, graphic

Tier 2 CNC Machine Operator

I updated my job title today. When I was fired without cause 16 months ago from what may be my last job in the software industry, I went out and got a job the old-fashioned way: pounding the pavement. It was to keep me busy while struggling to keep up with dozens of recruiter's demands and failed interviews, rejection after rejection kept piling up, freelance wasn't panning out either. I didn't have the runway to do a months-long job search. Now I'm working a computer controlled mill, essentially a robot shaped like the mill in shop class, only much bigger and WAY faster. The work pays about a third of what I made in the software jobs, is very loud, routinely is hotter than 95° F and is often 12 hours of non-stop work on my feet. I am constantly cut, bruised and sore from what I do. Prospects? I could work up the chain of command for another 20 years and never break $30/hour. But it's been a whole year of consistent work. When I work longer hours I'm paid more - no questions asked. No one has threatened me with dismissal, or publicly humiliated me. I feel respected there. It is physically impossible to steal or take credit for my work. When someone tries to get ahead by making work harder for everyone else, they are corrected. AI is improving our quality of work and profitability without incentivizing layoffs. I am physically the strongest I've been in 25 years. So maybe I'm living a new dream, one that pays far less but costs my soul nothing. My career has been varied, not having a single guide star, but an entire galaxy of constellations. I'd like to say each industry switch was because of pursuit of a deep vision of how I want to change the world for the better. But the truth is it's mostly random. Maybe this current job is a step backward, certainly makes all the bills look way larger and reduces opportunities to amass wealth. But good Lord I am so much happier there than my last three software jobs. So now I'm a CNC Machine Operator. My coding language is EIA-ISO, a.k.a. G-Code, which turns the designer's vision into actual metal. I will do it with all my ability, focused every day to improve the quality of my own work, to mentor the less experienced, and give hope to those who feel that the Blue Collar is a death sentence.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Edouard H.R. Glück

AWS D1.1 , D17.1 & ASME Chapter IX(B31.3)3A Sanitary Process 6G Welder, ASNT Level I,II Trainee- New York City Dept. of Buildings Licensed Structural Welder

2w

Josh- I have read and seen many things in my life, and many more on LinkedIn. What a powerful message. I feel like somebody else wrote my professional thoughts over the last 20 years. Much like Nadine Schaeffer- I took switched to Ag from a myriad of other professions and found happiness in a hybrid of welding and farming. It takes courage to say the quiet thing outloud, and you did that. Thank you for sharing

Andreu Osika

Designing AI-Enabled Healthcare Diagnostic Apps + Tools

2w

Thanks for sharing! There are tradeoffs in every decision and pursuit. As long as your priorities align with your current reality and you are physically, mentally and spiritually whole, life has a way of sorting itself out. All my best!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics