Crestwood Behavioral Health, Inc.’s Post

Crestwood's Peer Support Workforce "10 Questions that Promote Self-Advocacy" By Gloriana Hunter, Crestwood Director of Learning and Performance I once led a program where people participated in recovery and life-skill classes. Every month, we would hold a celebration dinner to honor their hard work. I had an excellent team to facilitate the celebration, so I often continued to work in my office. One evening, a team member abruptly entered my office. “We ran out of food, and everyone is mad. Jill* is on her way.” Looking down the hall, I saw Jill striding toward me with eight others marching behind her. Jill was a student who had a reputation for being vocal. She spoke out when classes were boring or off-point. She pointed out our inconsistencies in providing services. She would call us out when she believed she or others were unfairly treated. Staff were wary, but students felt they had a voice, even if it wasn’t theirs. Self-advocacy is one of the most potent resilience tools a person will ever use, but for some, speaking up is intimidating, frustrating, and even traumatic. For others, they expect that they will not be heard unless they are loud and angry. I seized the opportunity and asked Jill to help me develop a new class. Together, we outlined ten questions to help people build a self-advocacy plan: Know My Facts: 1. What do I want to have happen? 2. What are the facts and timeline that led to my current situation? 3. What do I know about my rights in this situation? Know My Strengths: 4. How confident am I in my ability to advocate for what I need? 5. What strengths do I have that will help me be heard? 6. Who can I ask for support, and what will I ask them to do? Know My Message: 7. Who has the most influence over changing my current situation? 8. What main points do I need to say regarding what I need? 9. What options do I have if I start talking but believe no one is listening to me? 10. How can I be firm and persistent without putting a wedge between me and the people who will influence whether I get my needs met? With Jill as a collaborator, the Voiceless Conundrum course became one of our most popular. Through its evolution, Jill adopted exceptional collaboration and leadership skills, others felt freer to speak their mind, and our team learned to listen more deeply to student concerns. *Note: Jill is not her real name.

Emma Ohlstrom

Passion for Healthcare Optimization

8mo

Self-Advocacy is so incredibly important! I really like this method of breaking down each feeling and skillset a person has to help conquer the fear of speaking up!

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics