Christian Heilmann 👀’s Post

View profile for Christian Heilmann 👀, graphic

Frontend, AI, Accessibility, Developer Relations. Literally wrote the book on developer advocacy, and worked for 25 years across the world with different market leaders

Matt's great to work with.

Today is my first day as chief technology officer at aLayer, Inc. I’m also happy to say those three beautiful words: WE ARE HIRING. A year ago today, I filed the paperwork to incorporate my company, Practical Equity and Inclusion. It turns out that my first client ended up being my biggest, occupying over 90% of my billable time this year. So we’ve decided to make it official. For most of my career, I’ve wondered what a software company could do if its tech leadership was a full-fledged partner in accessibility and inclusive design. Starting today, I’ll be finding out for myself. What we are building is _not_ an accessibility tool, but I’m going to be hiring a team that values inclusion and accessibility, and we’re going to build a highly accessible product. aLayer is opening its first office in Seattle, and we’re looking for an engineering lead and UX researcher to join the team. I’m pretty far on the remote side of hybrid, but we’d like to offer the right environment to bring out the best in our employees, so I’m open to any working arrangement for the right candidate. More on aLayer and the openings next week. My other company, Practical, will remain open to advise companies on equity and inclusion strategy. If you need a board member or advisor, I invite you to get in touch. I will also stick with my weekly office hours, and my Practical Tips newsletter. It’s safe to say this was not what I expected when I went and got a design degree! But aLayer has a good concept, great founders, and it’s a chance to build the team and culture I’ve been hoping for. Here we go.

This content isn’t available here

Access this content and more in the LinkedIn app

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics