Skip to content
Chicago White Sox shortstop Colson Montgomery plays against the Seattle Mariners at Camelback Ranch on Saturday, Feb. 24, 2024, in Glendale, Arizona. (Stacey Wescott/Chicago Tribune)
Chicago White Sox shortstop Colson Montgomery plays against the Seattle Mariners at Camelback Ranch on Saturday, Feb. 24, 2024, in Glendale, Arizona. (Stacey Wescott/Chicago Tribune)
PUBLISHED:

Top Chicago White Sox prospect Colson Montgomery recently paused a workout when Justin Jirschele, his manager at Triple-A Charlotte, called him in for a discussion.

Sox director of player development Paul Janish was on the phone.

“Janish said, ‘Really happy with what you’ve been doing, just keep staying consistent and keep doing what you’re doing, and we know everything’s going to work out,” Montgomery recalled during a video conference call on Friday.

Montgomery said Janish continued, “‘Just want to let you know you’ve been selected for the Futures Game.’ And I said, ‘Let’s go,’ and I was really excited. I’m still excited, and I can’t wait to play there.”

The shortstop was one of two Sox minor leaguers selected for Saturday’s All-Star Futures Game at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas. He’ll be joined by Double-A Birmingham pitcher Noah Schultz, who is the No. 2 prospect in the organization according to MLB.com.

The event brings together many of the game’s top minor-league players. Montgomery, the first-round pick by the Sox in 2021, is the No. 16 prospect in baseball according to MLB.com. Schultz, the team’s first-round pick in 2022, is No. 18 on the list.

“It’s a great honor, especially with all the great players across the minor leagues that you see that got selected,” Montgomery said of the Futures Game. “It’s a lot of high-name guys. I’m very happy I was able to do it this year. I’ve been wanting to do it.

“I wanted to do it last year, but I was hurt last year so I wasn’t able to do it. And the first year, understandably, it was my first (full) year, so they wanted me to keep my feet going with Low A and High A baseball. It makes sense. But just being able to do it this year — also being in Triple A and seeing a lot of good pitching — I’m just excited I get to do it this year in Arlington.”

Montgomery played a combined 64 games in 2023 during stops for the Arizona Complex League White Sox, Class A Winston-Salem and Double-A Birmingham after a midback strain delayed his start to the season. He’s played 75 games this season for the Knights.

“The biggest thing is having consistent at-bats and playing consistently every single day,” Montgomery said. “Last year, I didn’t really get to do that much, didn’t play as many games. I’ve already played way more than I did last year at this time. I’m happy to be healthy. I’ve been consistently working every day.”

Montgomery is slashing .211/.328/.379 with 12 doubles, 11 home runs and 33 RBIs for Charlotte.

“There’s a lot of ups and downs in this game, a lot of peaks and valleys, which I always talk about,” Montgomery said. “But I’ve got a good group around me here to help me stay consistent and stay on the right track of being the best player that I can be.

“The biggest thing is defensively, too, keep proving that I’m a shortstop, playing with urgency and playing with high energy.”

He knows that combination will be important as he continues to work with the goal of one day making an impact in the majors.

“Every single day, I feel like I’m getting closer and closer, just from growing as a player,” Montgomery said. “Also, pretty much all of it (in terms of timing of the next step) is out of my control, so pretty much just control what I can control, honestly.

“You think about it all the time, here and there, and you see all the stuff that’s going on with moves and trades. You just never know what’s going to happen. So it can kind of get distracting from being where your feet are and playing how you’re supposed to play. My best answer is: Every day I feel like I’m getting closer and closer to being the best player I can be and being a really good big league shortstop.”

Sox recall reliever Jordan Leasure from Triple A

The Sox recalled reliever Jordan Leasure from Charlotte and optioned reliever Steven Wilson to Triple A before Monday’s game against the Minnesota Twins at Guaranteed Rate Field.

Leasure is 0-2 with a 4.08 ERA, two saves, eight holds and 26 strikeouts in 30 relief appearances with the Sox this season. He made six outings, allowing three runs, with Charlotte after being optioned on June 14.

“In the long run it will work out for me for the best,” Leasure said of his time in the minors. “Definitely excited to be back and build off of what I was doing down there.”

Wilson is 1-5 with a 3.46 ERA, eight holds and 26 strikeouts in 30 relief appearances. He was acquired before the season from the San Diego Padres as part of the Dylan Cease trade.