My Wireguard Setup

misc

Disclaimer

Someone has been submitting my recent posts to online tech news aggregators, where they are criticized for not being cutting edge or paradigm shifting enough. If you’ve been led to believe that this post awe and amaze you, complain to the person who submitted it, not me. This is just my personal blog where I write about stuff that I’m doing, mostly technology based. It will not change your life. That said…

Background

I’ve had a “home server” for close to ten years now. It’s a Linux-based desktop pc. It acts as a file server, media server, backup server and a place to try out different things. I guess it’s what is now popularly called a “home lab”. All that’s great when I’m at home on my home network. I can stream movies and music, get files, ssh into the server and do whatever I need to do.

But when I’m out and about, traveling, working (when we used to go out and do stuff like that), I’d also like to have that same access. That’s all simple enough. You go into your router settings, do some port forwarding to that box and then you can stream, ssh, ftp, vnc, whatever. I’ve certainly done just that often enough. But as I became more security conscious, this started to worry me more and more. Having all those ports open into my main machine made me nervous. Yeah, they are behind passwords, or hopefully keys. I locked down ssh pretty tightly, but still worried about it, and all those other services. When I was on Xfinity for home internet, their management app provided a security section which listed all the various attempts to access different ports on the network with their IPs and locations. It was shocking. It became something that was not just theoretical. People were (and are) actually trying to hack into my network. That’s when I shut everything down.

Enter Wireguard

I’d heard quite a bit about Wireguard and it sounded like what I needed. I came upon this tutorial which described exactly what I wanted to do and in pretty clear terms:

https://zach.bloomqu.ist/blog/2019/11/site-to-site-wireguard-vpn.html

This all went together really well. It took a bit of learning and messing things up and fixing them, but I eventually got it all working really nicely and doing exactly what I need. Here’s my current setup:

  • Main wireguard server hosted on an inexpensive VPS in the cloud.
    • ufw set up to block all traffic other than specific ports from specific wireguard clients.
    • rinetd to forward any needed ports to my home server. Currently, that’s just the port that my airsonic server is running on.
  • Main wireguard server hosted on an inexpensive VPS in the cloud.
    • ufw set up to block all traffic other than specific ports from specific wireguard clients.
    • rinetd to forward any needed ports to my home server. Currently, that’s just the port that my airsonic server is running on.
  • wireguard client running on my home server.
    • airsonic music streaming server running there.
  • wireguard clients running on a couple of laptops, my Android phone and tablet. Each client has it’s own private key and the public key of the server. The server has its own private key and the public keys of each client.

With this setup I can ssh into the VPS from anywhere in the world, provided I’m doing it from one of the configured clients. Once I’m into the VPS, I can then ssh into any one of the other clients that has an ssh server running. I could use rinetd to forward ssh on specific ports to specific clients. But for now, that use case is not that common. When the world gets back to normal and I’m out of the house more, that will be useful.

I’ve got my airsonic server running on a specific port of my home server, let’s say it’s 1234. rinetd is set up to forward port 1234 on the VPS to port 1234 on the home server. So I can access my music in the browser from any wireguard client, or I can use any one of many subsonic-compatible Android apps and have my music streaming to my phone or tablet no matter where I am.

This setup is pretty flexible, and I will be able to add other services to it just by opening up a port in ufw and forwarding it as needed using rinetd. Important thing to remember is that when I say “opening up a port in ufw” I mean a wireguard client accessible port. Nothing is open on the VPS except via wireguard. Nothing is open on my home server except via the VPS or local LAN.

Monitoring and Recovery

One downside to this setup is that to access my music for example, I’m relying on a chain of multiple links: wireguard on VPS, ufw, rinetd, wireguard on home server, airsonic. If any one of those doesn’t function just right, I’m listening to silence. This has happened a couple of times, especially when I first set things up and had some things not quite right. Actually, if ufw goes down, I’ll still be able to listen to my music, but my VPS will be open. So I wanted to get some monitoring in place. When things were down early on, I’d be making assumptions on which piece was broke and spending time trying to fix it, only to find out it was one of the other links. With correct monitoring, I can now tell exactly what is up and down.

Monitoring with Healthchecks

I’ve been a big fan of Healthchecks.io. You set up “checks” which provide you with a url to ping. If a check doesn’t get a ping within a specified time period, it notifies you via email, sms, or through more than twenty other integrated services. I’ve been using it to monitor my daily backups. If a backup doesn’t happen at a specified time, I know about it.

So I set up a cron job that runs a script every 10 minutes on my VPS, and a similar one on my home server. This script first checks the status of wireguard. If it’s up, it pings Healthchecks. It does the same for rinetd and ufw. My home server checks wireguard and airsonic. Each of these five services is set up as a separate check in Healthchecks so I can see the status of each of them separately. The cron job runs every 10 minutes, so I give it one extra minute leeway – if Healthchecks doesn’t get a new ping after 11 minutes, that service is marked as down.

Recovery

Eventually I realized that if a particular service was down, once I became aware of it, I’d just go to whatever machine and restart it, so why not just do that automatically. So I built that into each of my checks.

If, say, wireguard is down on the VPS, it will NOT send the ping to Healthchecks. So a minute or so later it will be flagged as being down. But in this case, the script will also automatically try to restart wireguard. The next time it runs (10 minutes later), hopefully it sees that wireguard is up and sends the ping.

Healthchecks also has a “grace period” configuration. Once it notices something is down, it will not alert you until that grace period is done. I set this to 10 minutes. This results in the following sequence if something goes down:

  1. Service X is up and Healthchecks gets pinged at 10:00 pm.
  2. Service X goes down at 10:05 pm.
  3. At 10:10 pm, the script sees that Service X is down and fails to ping Healthchecks.
  4. The script also attempts to restart Service X.
  5. At 10:11 pm Healthchecks has not had a ping in 11 minutes and marks Service X as down.
  6. At 10:20 pm, the script runs again. Service X is up so it pings Healthchecks, which marks Service X as up again.
  7. Alternately, the restart didn’t work and at 10:20 pm no ping is sent.
  8. In this alternate case, at 10:21 pm, Healthchecks emails and texts me about the fact that Service X is down.

A potential improvement to this is that after step 4, when Service X is restarted, I could verify that it’s now working and ping Healthchecks. immediately. This way, if the restart works, nothing is marked as down. But I’m going to run it as is for a while and see how this works out. So far, so good.

I’ve gone through and tested each on of these checks, turning the service off and leaving it off. Within 11 minutes it was marked as down and restarted. And shortly thereafter marked as back up. All automatically.

If this were some kind of public service or mission critical workflow, I could easily set up the pings for every minute or so. But the 10 minutes seems perfectly adequate for my purposes.

More Details?

This post is pretty high level. Most of what went into the wireguard setup is covered in the above link. If you want to set up something similar, I’d be happy to go into more detail on any specific points. Just let me know.

2 thoughts on “My Wireguard Setup

  1. > criticized for not being cutting edge or paradigm shifting enough

    Feh. Who cares? I’ve been reading your blog since AS3 was still an “in” thing; I’ve always found it interesting enough to keep reading, and I still regularly bookmark posts you make since we seem to have overlapping interests.

Leave a Reply