Skip to main content
replaced http://writers.stackexchange.com/ with https://writers.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I'd like to draw attention to this question as an example of why I think questions on rephrasing should be on topic: Other options for had had?Other options for had had?

The asker provides an example sentence where they are using the phrase 'had had' and would like suggestions for rephrasing. This is a perfectly good example of how these questions are a useful resource for writers. Here is my use case:

I was working on a critique for a member of my writing group. I saw "I had enough" in past tense and was going to suggest "I had had enough" as a rewrite. I thought "Surely there has to be a better way of writing that.." a quick search, and here I am, Writers Stack Exchange.

Now if it were a simple word, sure, there are better ways to find synonyms. The OP's example in their edit is also too vague and not something I'd recommend.

But I'd maintain, if done properly, these types of questions would make perfectly good resources for writers.

I'd like to draw attention to this question as an example of why I think questions on rephrasing should be on topic: Other options for had had?

The asker provides an example sentence where they are using the phrase 'had had' and would like suggestions for rephrasing. This is a perfectly good example of how these questions are a useful resource for writers. Here is my use case:

I was working on a critique for a member of my writing group. I saw "I had enough" in past tense and was going to suggest "I had had enough" as a rewrite. I thought "Surely there has to be a better way of writing that.." a quick search, and here I am, Writers Stack Exchange.

Now if it were a simple word, sure, there are better ways to find synonyms. The OP's example in their edit is also too vague and not something I'd recommend.

But I'd maintain, if done properly, these types of questions would make perfectly good resources for writers.

I'd like to draw attention to this question as an example of why I think questions on rephrasing should be on topic: Other options for had had?

The asker provides an example sentence where they are using the phrase 'had had' and would like suggestions for rephrasing. This is a perfectly good example of how these questions are a useful resource for writers. Here is my use case:

I was working on a critique for a member of my writing group. I saw "I had enough" in past tense and was going to suggest "I had had enough" as a rewrite. I thought "Surely there has to be a better way of writing that.." a quick search, and here I am, Writers Stack Exchange.

Now if it were a simple word, sure, there are better ways to find synonyms. The OP's example in their edit is also too vague and not something I'd recommend.

But I'd maintain, if done properly, these types of questions would make perfectly good resources for writers.

Source Link

I'd like to draw attention to this question as an example of why I think questions on rephrasing should be on topic: Other options for had had?

The asker provides an example sentence where they are using the phrase 'had had' and would like suggestions for rephrasing. This is a perfectly good example of how these questions are a useful resource for writers. Here is my use case:

I was working on a critique for a member of my writing group. I saw "I had enough" in past tense and was going to suggest "I had had enough" as a rewrite. I thought "Surely there has to be a better way of writing that.." a quick search, and here I am, Writers Stack Exchange.

Now if it were a simple word, sure, there are better ways to find synonyms. The OP's example in their edit is also too vague and not something I'd recommend.

But I'd maintain, if done properly, these types of questions would make perfectly good resources for writers.