Skip to main content
Just "operational"
Source Link
wetcircuit
  • 9.4k
  • 1
  • 32
  • 59

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become a navigational operationalan operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become a navigational operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become an operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

Bizarre formatting code?
Source Link
JDługosz
  • 69.6k
  • 13
  • 130
  • 312

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become an n̶a̶v̶i̶g̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶a̶l̶a navigational operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become an n̶a̶v̶i̶g̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶a̶l̶ operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become a navigational operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

added 27 characters in body
Source Link
wetcircuit
  • 9.4k
  • 1
  • 32
  • 59

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become a navigationalan n̶a̶v̶i̶g̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶a̶l̶ operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become a navigational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

I understand that asteroids are very very far apart, but everything I am reading about asteroid mining omits any information about what happens to the waste rock or "tailings" that would presumably be left over. Is it loose rubble or ground powder? Does it not become an n̶a̶v̶i̶g̶a̶t̶i̶o̶n̶a̶l̶ operational hazard, at least to the mining unit itself? What I mean is, assuming the process creates dust, wouldn't all the mining equipment be coated in it, potentially clogging servos and covering solar panels, etc?

If there is rubble or gravel left over, would it have any value or use? Potentially being compressed into (I am guessing) a drywall-like building material for space constructs, or used as soil or fertilizer?

Source Link
wetcircuit
  • 9.4k
  • 1
  • 32
  • 59
Loading