Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 9, 2017 at 15:54 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution I agree although the desire to get ever more may still saturate if you have already a lot. The premises of the question were that somehow there is plenty of almost everything (or that is how I understood the question). On the other hand we often define us relative to what others have. So I agree that envy will probably never die out. But those who can make themselves free of the desire to have everything (including the luxury yacht), they should then hardly be oppresable in this post-scarcity society. What you describe is more like it is now where many things are still scarce IMHO.
Mar 9, 2017 at 14:41 history edited user20762 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 600 characters in body
Mar 9, 2017 at 14:36 comment added user20762 @Trilarion You may not want that luxury yacht, but someone else will. So, when that someone else is motivated to get that yacht, they will find a way and the inequality will exert itself. Wants and needs are two things.
Mar 9, 2017 at 14:15 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution You are absolutely right if you look at the current situation, but it may change with the amount of supply. Why eating 10 lobsters, if you are completely satisfied already after 3, why having 5 bedrooms, if all you ever need are three. Real world example: I live in an industrialized country and have a decent income. I can buy way more toys, food, books, movies, kitchen aids .. than I ever will be able to consume or use. Do I do that just because I can? No. Of course if somebody would gift me a luxury yacht, I might take it, but I don't really yearn for it.
Mar 9, 2017 at 13:33 comment added user20762 @Trilarion Why do people buy bigger houses when a smaller house would do them just fine? Why eat lobster when a burger will fill you up? As the Character Johnny Rocco said in Key Largo "I want more!" People may have everything they need but not everything they WANT
Mar 9, 2017 at 12:10 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution But how can you speak of inequality of there is plenty of everything for everyone? Your neighbor is more talented? Fine, but what is the benefit for him? What can more talent buy you if everyone already has everything they need?
Mar 8, 2017 at 20:38 history answered user20762 CC BY-SA 3.0