Skip to main content
Added information about my planet to help find a specific answer.
Source Link
mza
  • 161
  • 3

Is it at all possible for complex life to evolve and exist on a planet with rings? I

I assume the rings would have to be rock, since if the planet is to support life, it will have to be in the habitable zone of its sun, where ice rings would quickly melt.

My planet is not very different from Earth- it's slightly smaller, so has a little less gravity, but apart from that it's not much different. Life on the planet is pretty much the same as Earth too, with some added magical creatures.

I'm not writing a sci-fi here, but I would like the planet to have rings so that I can write about how different cultures in my world explain the rings, what significance they are considered to have, etc. I'm open to being told what conditions would be needed for a planet to have both rings and inhabitants.

Is it at all possible for complex life to evolve and exist on a planet with rings? I assume the rings would have to be rock, since if the planet is to support life, it will have to be in the habitable zone of its sun, where ice rings would quickly melt.

Is it at all possible for complex life to evolve and exist on a planet with rings?

I assume the rings would have to be rock, since if the planet is to support life, it will have to be in the habitable zone of its sun, where ice rings would quickly melt.

My planet is not very different from Earth- it's slightly smaller, so has a little less gravity, but apart from that it's not much different. Life on the planet is pretty much the same as Earth too, with some added magical creatures.

I'm not writing a sci-fi here, but I would like the planet to have rings so that I can write about how different cultures in my world explain the rings, what significance they are considered to have, etc. I'm open to being told what conditions would be needed for a planet to have both rings and inhabitants.

Source Link
mza
  • 161
  • 3

Can a planet with rings support life?

Is it at all possible for complex life to evolve and exist on a planet with rings? I assume the rings would have to be rock, since if the planet is to support life, it will have to be in the habitable zone of its sun, where ice rings would quickly melt.