Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
deleted 10 characters in body
Source Link
Terra
  • 151
  • 1
  • 5

Please forgive me if this isn't the right part of Stack Exchange or if my knowledge is poor. If you need to tell me about anything scientifically I encourage you to simplify it so me and other laymen can understand.

I notice that robots today need a lot of energy so I decided to run a little test in a hope to find solutions by seeing how much energy a new robot idea I had would need. This idea was a robot that, although completely non-biological, mimics the energy needs of a biological human to fix the aforementioned problem. I'm not sure how this could be done, though I assumed it's things like making the robot's brain (and the rest of the body) have similar wattage to a human's brain and taking inspiration from biology. I assume biological entitiesorganisms can't purely run off electricity, so NO PART OF THE ROBOT IS BIOLOGICAL.

I tried to do some math with help and the answer we got is that a 1kg 700 watt-hour battery would run the robot for decades. That sounded so wrong to me but my friend told me that humans are just way way lower energy than even everyday machines. As a comparison, 2kg of those batteries can allegedly run a vacuum cleaner for only an hour! It looked to us like there was something fundamental about non-biological machines that makes them really consume a lot of energy and I really didn't know how to fix that.

Please forgive me if this isn't the right part of Stack Exchange or if my knowledge is poor. If you need to tell me about anything scientifically I encourage you to simplify it so me and other laymen can understand.

I notice that robots today need a lot of energy so I decided to run a little test in a hope to find solutions by seeing how much energy a new robot idea I had would need. This idea was a robot that, although completely non-biological, mimics the energy needs of a biological human to fix the aforementioned problem. I'm not sure how this could be done, though I assumed it's things like making the robot's brain (and the rest of the body) have similar wattage to a human's brain and taking inspiration from biology. I assume biological entities can't purely run off electricity, so NO PART OF THE ROBOT IS BIOLOGICAL.

I tried to do some math with help and the answer we got is that a 1kg 700 watt-hour battery would run the robot for decades. That sounded so wrong to me but my friend told me that humans are just way way lower energy than even everyday machines. As a comparison, 2kg of those batteries can allegedly run a vacuum cleaner for only an hour! It looked to us like there was something fundamental about non-biological machines that makes them really consume a lot of energy and I really didn't know how to fix that.

Please forgive me if this isn't the right part of Stack Exchange or if my knowledge is poor. If you need to tell me about anything scientifically I encourage you to simplify it so me and other laymen can understand.

I notice that robots today need a lot of energy so I decided to run a little test in a hope to find solutions by seeing how much energy a new robot idea I had would need. This idea was a robot that, although completely non-biological, mimics the energy needs of a biological human to fix the aforementioned problem. I'm not sure how this could be done, though I assumed it's things like making the robot's brain (and the rest of the body) have similar wattage to a human's brain and taking inspiration from biology. I assume organisms can't purely run off electricity, so NO PART OF THE ROBOT IS BIOLOGICAL.

I tried to do some math with help and the answer we got is that a 1kg 700 watt-hour battery would run the robot for decades. That sounded so wrong to me but my friend told me that humans are just way way lower energy than even everyday machines. As a comparison, 2kg of those batteries can allegedly run a vacuum cleaner for only an hour! It looked to us like there was something fundamental about non-biological machines that makes them really consume a lot of energy and I really didn't know how to fix that.

Source Link
Terra
  • 151
  • 1
  • 5

How much energy would this robot need?

Please forgive me if this isn't the right part of Stack Exchange or if my knowledge is poor. If you need to tell me about anything scientifically I encourage you to simplify it so me and other laymen can understand.

I notice that robots today need a lot of energy so I decided to run a little test in a hope to find solutions by seeing how much energy a new robot idea I had would need. This idea was a robot that, although completely non-biological, mimics the energy needs of a biological human to fix the aforementioned problem. I'm not sure how this could be done, though I assumed it's things like making the robot's brain (and the rest of the body) have similar wattage to a human's brain and taking inspiration from biology. I assume biological entities can't purely run off electricity, so NO PART OF THE ROBOT IS BIOLOGICAL.

I tried to do some math with help and the answer we got is that a 1kg 700 watt-hour battery would run the robot for decades. That sounded so wrong to me but my friend told me that humans are just way way lower energy than even everyday machines. As a comparison, 2kg of those batteries can allegedly run a vacuum cleaner for only an hour! It looked to us like there was something fundamental about non-biological machines that makes them really consume a lot of energy and I really didn't know how to fix that.