Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 16, 2021 at 3:19 comment added jamesqf @Otkin: But the only actual examples of societies we have are ones including humans. So if we find examples of working societies that include dogs, horses, and humans at various levels, then we've answered the OP's question, no?
Nov 15, 2021 at 17:40 comment added Otkin @jamesqf I am not quite sure what is your goal here. I am not talking about humans at all. Yet, you keep suggesting that I do. I am not sure this is a productive discussion, so I will refrain from further participation. Thank you for your understanding.
Nov 15, 2021 at 17:31 comment added Otkin @CharlieHershberger The OP did not clarify what they meant by 'All individuals and families that participate in the society are generally treated equally by most others.' So, we do not know what they actually want.
Nov 15, 2021 at 4:41 comment added jamesqf @Otkin: Are you suggesting that all humans have the same decision autonomy in the great majority of societies? (All, AFAIK.) Not quite sure exactly what you mean by personal agency.
Nov 14, 2021 at 5:32 comment added user64888 Just to be clear, I don't think everyone will be equal in this society. But a farm is similar to what the asker wants.
Nov 13, 2021 at 18:20 comment added Otkin @jamesqf Are you suggesting that horses and dogs have the same decision autonomy and personal agency as humans (in human societies)? Could you bring an example of such a society?
Nov 13, 2021 at 16:44 comment added jamesqf @Otkin: I have no problem understanding your comment. I'm simply saying that it's wrong. You are also missing the distinction between livestock, and animals such as dogs & horses that work in partnership with humans.
Nov 12, 2021 at 16:37 comment added Otkin @jamesqf How does your statement about social inequality relate to my original comment? Do you have difficulty understanding it? May I provide some clarifications? As for counterexamples, I come from a culture with a different power dynamic within families.
Nov 12, 2021 at 3:05 comment added jamesqf @Otkin: The point is just what I said. I know of no human society in which all members are equal. Of course I don't know every society. Can you provide a counter-example? (And please learn the difference between stereotype and observation :-))
Nov 11, 2021 at 16:22 comment added Otkin @jamesqf I am not sure what is your point. Please also be careful with cultural stereotypes. They are not necessarily universal.
Nov 10, 2021 at 19:19 comment added jamesqf @Otkin: So are there any human societies where all members are treated as equals? Even the smallest hunter-gatherer tribe probably has a chief, war/hunt leaders, a medicine man/woman, &c. The stereotypical nuclear family has dad at the head, mom next, then subservient kids....
Nov 10, 2021 at 16:50 comment added Otkin I do not think that domestic animals 'participate' in society, nor they are treated as true equals. Farm animals do not have the decision autonomy and personal agency that members of a society have.
Nov 10, 2021 at 2:10 history answered user64888 CC BY-SA 4.0