Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ Ha, I didn't know that, neat. Hoping for a more universal and also more volition-proof reason. $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 23, 2021 at 3:53
  • 3
    $\begingroup$ +1 for interesting. $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 23, 2021 at 4:01
  • $\begingroup$ I've seen two grocery stores attached to to each other. The layout inside is roughly mirrored - in one you go in and then head left, the other you go in and head right. People didn't seem to have a huge issue navigating either. It's the same kind of store, in the same location, used by the same people. I've also been in stores within the same city that have orientation going to the left or to the right and still nobody seemed bothered. I've seen literally 100% the same layout for a store but "reversed". It was in two different countries but both drive to the right. Still nobody had issues. $\endgroup$
    – VLAZ
    Commented Jan 23, 2021 at 14:36
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ I’ve never observed a tendency for going counter-clockwise in UK, Australia or Japan. All 3 countries drive left-side. Unless you can show me some proper evidence for this I say that it is a fun conjecture, but total nonsense. $\endgroup$
    – Tonny
    Commented Jan 23, 2021 at 14:44
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @Tonny I've been to the UK and (few) other European countries. It doesn't seem like there is a big difference in how stores are laid out. I'm not able to recall every single store I've been in for each country but I can definitely remember at least one of each kind of layout - one where you have to go right, the other where you have to go left. $\endgroup$
    – VLAZ
    Commented Jan 23, 2021 at 14:52